Make Your Own Rules

I found this blog post called 9 Paleo Tips: The Good, the Bad and how to sanely try it – Tip number 9 says “Make your own rules (but stick to em).” I thought this was great, especially since our challenge is coming to an “end” this weekend. Some of you may be happy, others of you may be sad, regardless when the challenge ends you no longer have someone telling you how to eat- you get to make your own decisions. When I saw this post I thought it was great advice for you paleo challengers! You may not be on the challenge anymore- but make rules for how you are going to eat, and stick with them! You could be paleo 2 out of 3 meals a day, or incorporate one of your favorite foods back into your diet- whatever you decide stick with it!

“9. Make your own rules (but stick to ‘em). There’s no full agreement in the Paleo community on what is and isn’t Paleo. Some eat quinoa, some don’t. Some eat white potatoes, other don’t. Some drink tequila, others limit all alcohol altogether. Heck, some eat high-quality butter. I chose to drink limited amounts of red wine, tequila and chocolate for my sanity. So feel free to fudge a few of the rules for what’s best for you, assuming, of course, that the main no-grains-legumes-dairy rule is followed. If you’re doing a 30-day Paleo challenge, stick to your rules for the full time so that you can really see how much different you feel. But if you’re not doing a set challenge, you might want to try going Paleo at just breakfast or lunch, and then adding on from there as you adjust. It’s your diet and life, so do what feels right for you.”

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

One response to “Make Your Own Rules

  • Jessica H.

    Thanks for this, how pertinent to the end of the paleo challenge! I think I need to sit down before midnight tonight and really think about what my eating is going to look life after this challenge. I am fully aware I am an “all or nothing” person, so the meal by meal thing may not work for me, but I don’t think I can deny myself the occasional greek yogurt for much longer. I am completely cognizant that this may not be true for other, but introducing refined sugar back in to my diet, at least more than once or twice a month, is not an option- it’s a slippery slope for me. With that being said, I’m putting it out there (to hold me somewhat accountable) that I am going to try and stick to paleo with the rules we have been following the last six weeks. I am just now starting to see and feel results and I want to see where this can take me.

Leave a Reply

