Do you believe in paleo?

What makes you believe in paleo? Why did you accept this 6-week challenge? Who said it is really going to work anyways? or maybe you don’t think it is going to work- maybe you are just trying paleo as a last resort? I am not sure what your exact reason is- but we all have a story. As the challenge has progressed I feel as if some people are only thinking about what they can have after the challenge is over and not focusing on what they can enjoy right now and what these foods are doing for your body. Think about it for a sec.. think about a processed food you were consuming prior to paleo, was it cereal? bread? fruit roll ups? KFC? soda?.. now try and think of one thing all of those products have in common? If you said chemicals, you’re correct! Our bodies were not made for chemicals, are bodies were made for nutrients! for REAL FOOD! THE FOOD YOU ARE EATING RIGHT NOW! How great is that?!  In my own opinion, I believe that people get severely ill, because of all the chemicals that they consume that is in the food we eat and the air we breathe. So why torture yourself? Sure, they might be yummy but that moment of weakness could be painful years down the road. You might think this is easy for me to say- I’ve been paleo for awhile, but we all have temptation- but at the end of the day you have to do what is best for yourself and your body. Enough of the preachy-ness .. I like to use my dad as an example, I told him about paleo and it took him awhile to jump on board but he did for about a month. He was an ice cream and popcorn fanatic and refused to give it up, but did for one month. Before paleo he wasn’t a heavy guy, but had a little to lose and was on high blood pressure medicine. Within one month of paleo he had lost weight and gotten completely off of his blood pressure medicine – all because of what he ate! Bad news is he went back to old habits and now is back on his medication and his doctor just told him he needed to lose 30 pounds. That’s just one story and there are many more out there. People believe in the paleo lifestyle for many reasons, some because of weight loss, some to get off medication, some just want more energy, and others want to overcome an eating disorder- remember why you signed up for the challenge, maybe your goals have changed- but for the remainder of the challenge shift your focus to all of the amazing foods you can eat and don’t forget all of the great things your healthy food choices are doing for your body.

Check out the Testimonials from Hoosier CrossFit and also from Robb Wolf!

“If you want something you’ve never had, you must be willing to do something you’ve never done.”– Thomas Jefferson

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

2 responses to “Do you believe in paleo?

  • Joe Bender

    I decided to do paleo because the basic idea of eating real food that humans have been eating for thousands of years made sense to me, and because it’s not a short-term diet but a permanent change in how you eat. What I used to eat was pretty boring so I didn’t really have any non-paleo foods that I would miss and I guess I’m lucky about that, since I’m not craving anything except apples and almond butter. I used to eat bread and cereal all day without really thinking about it or enjoying it because it was a habit. Now I don’t miss it.

  • Jen Smallwood

    I think this is a terribly important question. This is my third paleo challenge, the others I’ve participated in with varying degrees of success (the last one I did great on, but never submitted my results!) The reason I believe in paleo is for numerous reasons, including the tons of reasons written in all of the books I’ve read. And I’ve read a LOT of books on the topic. They make a good argument. But….

    More important is the fact that when I follow a paleo diet, my waist literally shrinks within weeks. When I don’t, it expands. Nearly immediately. It’s not bloating or water weight, it’s just that my body takes all those excess carbs and immediately stores them as fat. I’m very, very good at it.

    I guess some people are more susceptible to excess carbs, and maybe people have varying needs for them, but this I know: for me, low (relative to the standard american diet) carbs work.

    Also, I’m reading a book by Gary Taube called “Good Calories, Bad Calories,” and WOW is it eye opening. It’s really pissing me off, because all of the “research” that the current nutritional standards are based on is seriously flawed. SERIOUSLY flawed, and it pisses me off that our government has been creating nutritional standards (think food guide pyramid) based on this. And it’s harming people left and right. To the point that a couple years ago I went to a training for a diabetes prevention program, and they were actually advocating that these people follow a LOW FAT diet. I asked, “Doesn’t this program advocate cutting carbs for people who are pre-diabetic?” And they said, “No, the research suggests that they should follow a low FAT diet.” NO, NO it doesn’t. It NEVER really did. When people follow a low fat diet, typically they are increasing their carb intake, and this is BAD for this population particularly. Needless to say, I declined to ever teach that program.

    Sorry, don’t get me started. 🙂

Leave a Reply

