Going out to Eat

One of my favorite challenges is the “going out to eat” challenge.  We get to learn about the best places to find paleo food around town! This can also improve your social experiences with others when going out to eat.

Below are a few tips I had from a  previous post.  Shaun and I had a Paleo breakfast at Scholars Inn Restaurant.

  • Don’t be afraid to ask questions. This is a phobia many people have; stop fearing that you’ll be judged or considered nuisance if you ask questions.  Questions help you become more educated and we can all use a little bit of that.  If you’re a shy person, then overcome this challenge.
  • You HAVE to ask questions. You don’t know if dairy, legumes, corn syrup, etc. are hidden in the soups and sauces, if grain based thickeners are in the gravy,  if  beans, corn or rice are part of a mixed vegetable option (even though they aren’t vegetable), or if they add butter to the vegetables.  Most salad dressings are a NO GO.  Whether you are afraid or not, you have to ask questions
  • Ask for additions or substitutes and just pay it.  It seems that Restaurants welcome large portions of deep fried foods, but small portions of vegetables and meat.   Regardless of why this is, Shaun ALWAYS has to order a larger meat and extra vegetables.  Chances are your $3.50 cup of broccoli will barely fill the palm of your hand, but you’ll feel a little more satisfied if you include it.
  • Seek out a restaurant that isn’t a chain.  Usually their food will be fresh, sometimes local ingredients.  It’s my opinion they will most likely be more understanding of your needs.
  • It’s ok to talk about your challenge.  At the table discussed our needs with the server, but didn’t go into detail about our challenge.  But, on our way out of the Scholar’s Inn, I took a picture of the menu because I forgot at the table.  The hostess was standing right there so I figured I should say something.  She had heard of paleo, and we talked about it for a minutes.  You never know you can change someone’s life with a simple conversation.  It could be nothing, but it could be something!
  • In general, be careful about eating out.  As you may already know, restaurants aren’t using olive oil or coconut oil.  There’s a reason why we don’t eat vegetable oil, so eat it very much in moderation. It’s critical you do not eat out everyday.
About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

3 responses to “Going out to Eat

  • Kathy H.

    I’m looking forward to our outing. I’ve had some food allergies, so I’ve already been asking some questions of waiters and requesting substitutions. Even before paleo soy-based foods were off my list, and soybean oil is in practically any kind of packaged food, including, as you say, salad dressings.

  • jen Smallwood

    My son and I ate out at Feast on Wednesday night… and it was a pretty good experience there. They serve Fisher Farms ground beef, and so I asked for that, sans bun, sauce and cheese, and ordered a bowl of gazpacho (made out of fresh, local tomatoes). I love that they purchase a lot of local ingredients for their offerings, and they didn’t bat an eye when I asked for the changes. AND, though the portion is tiny, their baked sweet potato wedges are delicious. (Shaun would definitely still have been hungry!) 🙂

  • Liz Whitaker

    I have always had pretty stringent standards when it comes to food and restaurants; since eating paleo, I’ve become even more particular. Now included in how I judge a restaurant is willingness to work with special requests. You’re advise Jenna seems to be spot on for my experiences. The more you talk to the service personnel, it seems like the more willing they are to work with you.

    Over the summer, I had an awesome experience at Turkuaz Cafe on 3rd. I told the waitress right away that I was eating paleo, and what that meant I could and couldn’t eat. All their dinner entrees come with a 3 salad plate and lentil soup. One, of the salad contains couscous, but the other two are just veggies with simple dressings of oil and lemon juice. (Since I wasn’t on a challenge, I didn’t ask about oil type.) Because I’d explained myself, the waitress volunteered to get me an extra large helping of the 2 salads I could eat to make up for the lack of couscous and lentil soup. Then with my lamb kabobs, she included more salads because I didn’t want the rice and bread that comes with the meat. It was probably the dining out experience I’ve had with paleo.

Leave a Reply

