Celebrate Food!

One of my favorite, hardworking friends, Jen R., made an amazing statement, “Eating paleo is a celebration of food!”  

In the beginning, paleo can feel challenging.  There’s new routines being established  that takes up your time and energy.  Meals start out boring, plus sometimes, your palate hasn’t really adjusted to meat/vegetables because eating Standard American Food is more exciting for your tastebuds. However, by this point, your tastebuds have had a chance to embrace the newfound flavors!  Before Paleo, I tasted nothing but bland, gross vegetables, but now I can taste the sweetness in Broccoli and new vegetables I never, ever ate in the past became bearable and furthermore, desirable!  Read an old post from my experience and reflection regarding the celebration of food!

It’s ok to make the same old foods once in a  while because we have to eat something and we need it to be fast!  BUT!  On the weekends, I suggest you find a recipe to help you explore new seasonings and new vegetables or a new way of baking, grilling, broiling, or sautéing your food! One night, I followed a recipe that turned into one of my favorite meals to make!  It’s Paleo Lo Mein found from the book Make it Paleo!  A meal like this is completely different because of the sesame oil and the coconut aminos.

When you dice onions, don’t forget your onion goggles!

Process

  1. Heat wok or skillet over high heat.
  2. Add sesame oil, minced ginger and garlic, and sauté for 1 minute to allow the flavors to infuse the oil.
  3. Add chicken to the wok, and cook, stirring frequently for 3–4 minutes, or until the chicken is mostly cooked.
  4. Add in broccoli, water chestnuts, celery, and shiitake mushrooms; sauté for 2 minutes.
  5. Add in almonds, cabbage, and green onion (I used regular onions)
  6. Pour in coconut aminos (2–4 tbsp).
  7. Cook 2–3 minutes, until cabbage softens a little.
  8. Remove from heat, and garnish with sesame seeds.

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

4 responses to “Celebrate Food!

  • Jessica H.

    This post was much needed today and that recipe looks delicious. However, the thing that I love most about this post are your onion goggles Jenna! Styling!

  • hcfchallenge

    I’m not sure if I made it clear, but I lined out some foods in the recipe because i didn’t have them on hand. I just added more of the vegetables i did have.

  • Joe Bender

    I heard that if you have a really sharp knife, the onions don’t make your eyes water. I haven’t been eating onions because sometimes they upset my stomach so I haven’t tried a sharp knife. I haven’t been doing any recipe cooking but I’m thinking of making something complicated once a week to get practice following some cooking instructions. Mostly I focus on cooking my meats right and then just add some spices to mix it up.

  • jensayers

    One thing I have come to love is cooking with coconut oil! Who knew veggies I’ve eaten my whole life could taste so different and good without even having to add anything else??

Leave a Reply

