Social Occasions

I was browsing the internet for a paleo picture and I came across a picture of a funny bread, and turned out to be almond butter bread.  I was intrigued even though I never have the wanting to make or utilize bread in any way in my meals.  But then I started to read the blog post from the guy  (cookingcaveman.com) that posted the picture.  It was quite funny and helps us all remember that you just need to stay strong when it comes time to attend social events with friends or family.

“Yesterday I went to a barbecue pool party, and some old friends who haven’t seen me in a bathing suit for many years, marveled at how young and fit I look.  The first part of the party was a caveman compliment fest!  Then the food came. I grilled my own grass-fed burger, and brought my own homemade thousand island dressing, red onion, and a homemade caraway seed bun made from almond butter bread.  The mocking started pretty mildly at first.  ”Oh, you’re making a sticks and twigs burger?”  ”Is that grass-fed bread too?”  But by the end of the meal, it was belligerent.”

This is a tough situation and it’s so important to remember that your hunter-gatherer lifestyle is nourishing, delicious and satisfying.  The first point people will make to you is, “You only live once. Why don’t you live a little?”   People are getting busy accepting sickness over wellness. It’s cool if you like arthritis or love digestion issues of sorts.  But, I’d rather have an egg chorizo scramble without arthritis than a bagel with arthritis.

Look forward to tomorrow’s post regarding a Celebration of Food!

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

5 responses to “Social Occasions

  • Jen Sayers

    So pulling into work today, I decided I really missed bread…thought to myself – I’m sure there exists a recipe with almond something! Then I log in and here it is! Maybe I should buy a lottery ticket? Anyway, I will definitely be trying this one out!
    Side note – to anyone out there eating canned tuna – can you advise what brand does not contain soy??? I’ve so far looked at several – including star kist and it doesn’t seem to matter if it regular or white albacore – allergens state “contains tuna & soy”. Suggestions?

    • Liz Whitaker

      Jen –

      Starkist does make a tuna in water that doesn’t contain soy. I only eat chunk light tuna; I don’t like albacore (and albacore is higher in mercury and other bad stuff). The Starkist kind is called “StarKist Selects Low Sodium Chunk Light Tuna”. The only two ingredients are tuna and water. The “Selects” line does have a no sodium added albacore that I bet does’t have soy; I’ve just never looked closely at it.

      Also, Whole Foods 365 Wild Tuna Skipjack No Salt Added is soy free and Trader Joe’s has their brand of No Salt Added or Low Sodium Skipjack Tuna that is also soy free.

      Hope that helps!

      • Jen Sayers

        Thanks Liz – I’ll check it out. My other thought was checking pouch verses canned? Anyway – good tip!

  • Liz Whitaker

    I loved today’s post! I had a similar experience this summer going to a family reunion. Everyone raved about how fantastic I looked, complimenting both on weight loss and muscle tone, even how wonderful my complexion looked. But then when it came to meal times… they couldn’t seem to help themselves for making fun of what I ate or didn’t eat. I don’t worry about it though because the results speak for themselves. By the end of the weekend, I had a couple of family members saying they were going to have to check out paleo.

  • Joe Bender

    “A bagel with arthritis” is a strange image. I’ve been wondering why what I choose to eat makes the people around me so mad. I’d understand if they made a few comments about it seeming strange and then moved on, but it seems like people take offense from my paleo diet, like it’s an insult to them. Belligerent was a good word for the article to use to describe that attitude. I think it has something to do with people not liking to be reminded that they are being lazy about their health.

Leave a Reply

