Sunday Reflection

Week 1 of the paleo challenge is now in the books! I hope everyone has had a successful week. Yesterday  for our community event we went grocery shopping at Kroger. To recap we talked about the importance of reading labels, sticking to the parameter of the grocery store, only buying items you know you will eat (this will help save you money), and having a plan! Remember that you will most likely need to go to the store again later in the week- plan accordingly so you do not get in a pinch where you have no paleo food in the house. When it comes to produce try to buy local- Bloomingfoods, Sahara Mart, and the Butchers Block are great resources… remember when in doubt (about what is in the food) ask!

Go ahead and reflect this week on what you found to be the most difficult thing about the challenge and something that you have enjoyed so far. It could be dealing with the detox, having trouble planning, maybe you don’t know what to eat or have caught yourself in that fruit-nut eating habit. Overall, how did week one treat you? Share your comments below!

 

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

20 responses to “Sunday Reflection

  • Staci Murphy

    The hardest part for me is all of the prepping and cooking involved! I need to get more organized, plan and prepare as much as I can.
    I have enjoyed the energy I feel each day and in my workouts!
    It makes me excited to see what the next 5 weeks brings!!!

  • Luke Murphy

    The hardest part for me has been missing the things that I have grown accustomed to eating everyday. No major cravings or anything. Just missing them.

    My favorite part of the diet is I have been eating things that i have never eaten before. This is surely broadening my horizons.

  • Dana Runnebohm

    Week one for me went pretty well for the most part. Shopping has been very simple but I can’t lie and say the temptations do not have a hard pull. The most difficult part has been getting food in at work. I’ve always relied on protein shakes in the morning and after workouts. I miss the convenience but I don’t miss the taste.
    The most enjoyable aspect has been feeling lighter. Just lighter. I’m not full or bloated from things I was eating before. Just hoping I remember all of this when the 6 weeks ends…

  • Hannah Davidson

    This week oddly enough I did not have struggles with food alone. I had struggles with sleep, which made me hungry, which affected the way I ate (and worked out). This challenge requires you to treat your body with the utmost of care, which includes sleep (and exercise). Even a manicure can help you feel good! But no mater how well you are eating or working out, sleep is crucial to your success and mood. One thing I did well was go out to late with my friends and not drink, but I would be hungry at 1 am and eat food– very bad. But Jenna was right– your stomach will tell you what works and what doesn’t. Looking forward to this weeks challenge!

  • Caitlin Mroz

    The best part has been rediscovering foods that I had forgotten I liked, like salad without all of the added crap on top of it. It’s pretty awesome.

    Going out to eat has been craaaaazy difficult. On Friday I was at a retirement party at O’Charley’s and it was stupid. Everything was fried or had cheese on it and served over pasta. I was the annoying girl at the table who had 17 substitutions, but there was no way i was giving in. It didn’t help that I hate chain restaurants. If I had to be there, I was going to make it work.

  • Joe Bender

    The hardest part for me has been keeping from eating a lot of fruit, mostly apples and bananas. I wanted to stick to one piece of fruit a day but once I had one I just wanted more. Then I tried to not eat fruit at all, but I was just thinking about it all day and that wasn’t fun. I bought a bag of warrior cereal and tried to eat a little at a time, but when I realized I was out of protein in the house and it was late at night, I just ate the whole bag. Mostly I learned that I need to prepare early and have good foods ready for when I’m hungry. On a happy note, I made kale chips last night and they taste amazing and are very easy to make. That might become my main vegetable choice.

  • Jessica H.

    Week one went relatively well. The hardest part was planning ahead. I was leaving the house at 8am and not getting back until 9pm, so a grocery bag full of paleo friendly food accompanied me everywhere I went…However, a few times I just copped out and raided the Bloomingfoods Salad/Hot Bar for dinner or lunch.

    I think the most enjoyable moment for me was an “aha!” moment. Tuesday was just a horrible day and all I wanted to do was go home, sit on the couch, and eat some cake…or ice cream…or cookies (um, emotional eater much?), but I couldn’t! In the end, not drowning my sorrows in sugar made me feel so much better, both physically and emotionally, than if I had gone for the cake-icecream-cookie conglomerate.

  • Kathy H.

    I saw on a comment to another post Jen (I think it was) asked about mood swings. I’m not seeing that post right now and don’t want to go searching for it. But I’ll respond in this check-in by saying, yes, mood swings were part of my week. On a positive note, they have been less “swing-y” than in the past 3-4 months when the sugar/starchy foods had their influence.

    This week I noticed my hunger button sure needs to be recalibrated. I notice I fill up before I’m finished eating everything, especially when I have a large plate of veggies. Then I’ll feel a little hungry a while later. Some days I have just had some water and pushed through it, other days I’ve had a handful of nuts or raisins or a carrot, or something.

    I survived a “goodie day” at work and a trip to a restaurant without too much trouble, so I’m happy about that. I did notice, as Caitlin says, the lack of good choices on the menus. I was the annoying person who took three trips by the waitress before I was ready to order. I kept remembering a phrase from last week’s meeting: “Don’t cheat yourself.”

    Lastly, I noticed that I need to plan ahead more. And get used to having leftovers and taking my lunch and snacks to work.

    I’m sorry to have missed the meeting yesterday, especially the shopping trip! I had to go to Noblesville with my daughter for an meeting with her grandfather about her dad’s estate (he passed away in May this year).

  • Jen Smallwood

    This week was interesting for me. I didn’t feel at all compelled to eat crap, but I did find myself battling the “find something to eat in the frig” habit– the one that is not related to hunger at all. I’d go and look…. and then check in, “nope, not even hungry.” Wit was difficult to just close the dumb refrigerator door (trying not to eat mindlessly!), doing that was easier than handling the guilt and stress that accompanies eating when I know I’m not hungry. I also had a couple of difficult/stressful days this week (had to put one of my dogs down…) and my first thought was about what I could eat that would make me feel better. Like Jessica said, though I wanted to dive into the ice cream, knowing that wasn’t a choice helped, and I realized how much easier it was to just deal with the emotions related to the actual stressful event than to deal with the emotions that come from eating crap to cover it up, if that makes sense at all. And when I did that, the desire for the crap went away. Hmmm.

    Also, just planning, planning, planning. Important, important, important!!!! 🙂

  • Megan Abajian

    Overall I think this week went pretty well. It was some trial and error, but by Thursday I think I was getting the hang of it. Earlier in the week it seemed like I was hungry all the time. Even though I was having paleo foods, I still was in ‘diet’ brain with oils and portions. I found myself eating lots of fruit and nuts in between meals just to get me the boost to my next meal. That damn Fruit/Nut pitfall!
    After scouring the internet about paleo stuff I decided I was going to up how I use my fats and up my portions just a little. That really seemed to do the trick! I heard Jenna talk about eating two meals a day, and of course in my brain that was just plain crazy, but I get it. After upping my portions just a bit I really was only eating twice a day (Breakfast and Dinner) with an apple/nut snack at lunch or mid afternoon. And it stopped my evening snacking too.
    I also love the fact that I think I have MORE options now, than I did when I was ‘watching what I eat’. There is definitely more variety in what I cook now and it’s SUPER tasty. I’ve taken Jenna’s cue and started taking pictures of my meals, if anything to be accountable? and to show how awesome the food can be.

  • Adeyemi Doss

    What I found most difficult about this first week was planning my meals ahead of time. The thing that I enjoyed the most about this first week was being able to not think about sweets. I assumed that around this time into the challenge I would start to have a bad case of “Carmel Macchiato/Apple Fritter” withdrawal symptoms, but I haven’t due to properly substituting my craving for “Starbucks” with small amounts of fruit everyday.

  • Darleesa Doss

    The most challenging thing for my first week was planning my meals. I ran into some unexpected meetings/more hours working (which we all do)-but had I planned my meals on Sunday or at least packed some vegetables/nuts/fruit I probably wouldn’t have felt sick and/or fatigued when returning home. It was also challenging for me to find an equal balance in my meals. Sometimes I felt as if I wasn’t getting enough protein throughout the day. However, after attending the meeting yesterday I feel more confident on how to add more fat and protein in my diet as a pescetarian. Although I faced a few challenges this week, I really learned a lot about my body (how it responds to change), increased my knowledge on healthy eating, and simply learned to be patient with myself during this process. Another plus this week is that slept between 7-8 hours each night without waking up-and felt refreshed in the mornings☺

  • Dave Rowe

    The first week has been rough, especially since it is the start of the semester for IU. Lots of eating out, or grabbing something quick. I think I have been doing okay, but I seem to be always hungry. Portion size is still something that I am figuring out. Still missing carbs, sugars, cheese, etc… Hopefully those cravings will go away soon. Haven’t noticed any change in weight or sleep yet. I think overall I am eating much better than before though. More “real” food, less processed grain-based food. No deep-fried food, pizza, or soda either. So even if I haven’t seen any improvement, at least I am eating better. One thing I have noticed is that the reason that I eat poorly is not a lack of knowledge. I know the right things to eat, and I know how bad other food is. But wings and pizza taste are good, cheap, and available. Right now it is a battle of willpower.

    • Denise

      Dave, if you haven’t read the Pale O’lympian article Jenna posted on the blog, I highly recommend it. I gained some inspiration from it. It’s a matter of changing our minds and the way we think about these things.

  • Liz Whitaker

    Challenges: Just like nearly everyone else, the challenges have been planning the meals. It’s hard to eat a balanced paleo meal just on the fly. Work was also insane this week with returning students (I work in a mattress and furniture store), so it was really difficult to get away to eat my thoughtfully prepared and packed lunches. I didn’t pack a lunch yesterday because I was running late in the morning (lesson learned to always pack the night before). I was starving because it was 3pm and I still hadn’t eaten lunch, and I went back to the break room to grab a bottle of water only to be greeted by the smell of pizza. It wasn’t tough to say no, there’s no way I would blow the challenge in week 1, but it still sucked. I’m also learning the right amounts of fats to work into meals to help maintain satiety.

    Pleasures: I feel great. I always feel best when I’m eating a large variety and quantity of vegetables. It’s also been nice to been time in the kitchen with the hubby making meals together. I’ve been enjoying trying new recipes. I had tried to make mayo several times in the past, and it never worked for me. I wanted to give it another shot for this challenge, and I’ve definitely got it down pat now, soooo yummy. I’ve also discovered that coconut oil is freaking awesome. I highly recommend cubed sweet potatoes roasted in a little coconut oil topped with chipotle chili powder.

  • Jenise R.

    I have found it hard to find a routine for shopping and keeping the fridge stocked without losing a bunch of produce. I try not to buy more than I can eat in the next 3 to 4 days, but I also don’t want to be going to the store 2-3 times a week. I ended up throwing away some veggies that didn’t get used this last week. I guess it all comes back to planning, planning, planning. My pleasures have been the way that I feel and mostly the way that I am sleeping. I am truly sleeping like a champ! I haven’t slept like this in 20 years. I fall asleep instantly, get up without an alarm, and get up with some energy to get my day started. I have also been able to give up caffiene completely! I had gotten myself down to one cup a day and maybe two on the weekends, but was able to even get rid of that this past week with no ill effects!

  • Staci Murphy

    The hardest part for me is all of the time involved prepping and cooking. I need to plan ahead this week!

    The part I enjoy the most is the energy I have each day and in my workouts. Maybe it is all in my head, but I feel like it is working!!!

  • jensayers

    The hardest part for me??? All of it. What a stressful week! I couldn’t even stand myself!!! I can only hope that if it really is/was the toxins – they are on their way out for good! I can’t blame the foods – I have always enjoyed eating – now I enjoy the challenge of trying and making new things. I am looking forward to a better week both inside and out.
    What I most enoy is getting to know new people and finally having someone to share in the enthusiasm of what eating and ultimately life is all about.

  • Denise

    I guess because it was all new again and I was excited about it, I actually had fun with it this week. I cooked a LOT which is unusal for me, but it kept me from sitting in front of the TV too much. I was able to make up extras for lunch the next day. I just learned that I had to plan better for dinner. I sometimes don’t get home until really late and don’t want to eat after 7:30 ish so I have to pack extra stuff I can eat about 5pm while I’m on the go. School starts back up this week, so I must think ahead, otherwise I have no juice for the 6am class.

    Happy paleoing this week you all!

Leave a Reply

