Pale’O’lympian

How many times do you think the Olympians of today have wanted to throw in the towel, skip early morning practices, or ditch on time in the weight room because sleeping in or hanging out with friends sounded ‘easier’?  I’m fairly certain it happened more than once…  But guess what?  They didn’t – they instead focused on their ultimate goals and changed their thinking.  What once was ‘hard’ and ‘uncomfortable’ started getting easier and pretty soon the ‘tough’ stuff became habit.  Now let’s apply this to a  ’real world’ scenario:

Meet ‘Pat’ – Pat has always struggled with weight, now has Type 2 Diabetes, high blood pressure, hormone/thyroid abnormalities and is always tired.  This ‘state’ has been the theme for the past 5 years.  Pat is on a number of prescription drugs and it seems that every visit to the doctor adds another or a higher dose.  As for diet and exercise – well, Pat pretty much ignores any recommendations in those areas.  It’s not to say the thought hasn’t occurred to make changes, in fact; Pat has even tried – there was the DASH diet, that bout with Slim-Fast, the walking program, home exercise equipment, and the unused gym membership.  It was all too ‘hard’ and since Pat had all the meds to control the major health stuff, the ‘comfortable’, ‘easy’ path was the chosen route.

Now, granted most of us are not in as dire need of intervention as ‘Pat’ – but I’m fairly certain we’ve all got something that’s keeping us ‘comfortable’.  Well, it’s time for us to be Pale-’O’-lymipians.  It’s time to do the things that are ‘hard’ and ‘uncomfortable’ and to reach for our goals of physical, mental and emotional health.  If you’re reading this, it’s safe to say that you’ve either already made some major changes or that you’re thinking about it.  The mind is your fiercest competitor – change that and you’re in medal contention.  Everything is hard before it is easy, and nothing that’s worth doing doesn’t take some work.

Start training now and before you know it you’ll be “Going for the Gold”! – More From writer Amy Kubal and Robb Wolf

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

2 responses to “Pale’O’lympian

  • Denise

    Love the article on Pale O’Lympian…you were talking to me! It’s been a long process over the past 2 years since I made the move to “get up and move” and there are certain areas I don’t want to give up because I’m ‘comfortable’ with it (i.e. nutrition!). I’ve committed to this challenge and have even given up a ‘nutritional drink’ my dr has had me on in some form or another for 8-10 yrs now, which I drank every morning and night, (I couldn’t believe looking back how long I had been drinking this). Thing is, it’s rice based so definitely not paleo and I wanted to fully commit to this challenge for the long run and just see how my body and my performance changes.

    Loved the song you tagged in the article also…I’ve downloaded it to my iphone and am going to put it on repeat for a while :).

    You’re right…our minds are our biggest obstacle and in order to take our bodies back, and have the healthy, strong body we so want we must change our thinking! Squash that little booger every time it rears it’s ugly head and tells you “you can’t do this” because you CAN. Many of you, and me especially, have proven this over and over and over again in the gym now. I don’t know how many times I have seen the workout for the day and my mind immediately says “you can’t do this”, but guess what, I have yet to fail. So why can’t we transfer this mental toughness from the gym into our nutritional life and think “there is no try, only do!” YOU CAN DO THIS!

  • Jen Sayers

    I have a brother-in-law nearby that practices alternative/integrative medicine – he told me long ago that by simply going gluten free, 70-80% of his patient population is cured of their particular burden. This was interesting – but after following for 4-6 weeks – I felt only “a little” better – but not enough to brag. As a child I had multiple food allergies with 2 of the biggest culprits being wheat and dairy. A health scare in the last year or so led to research which led me to paleo. I continued to put it off – finding excuses easier than just jumping in! Then I found Jenna, Shaun, & HCF – or they found me! Anyway, I decided then that if I was going to make physical changes, that I should also work internally as well. I have since convinced a few friends and even a few patients to give it a try….guess what??? It works! Just like anything else in life – commitment, dedication, patience. It’s a marathon – not a sprint.

Leave a Reply

