Paleo On the Go

“I’m a police officer and have a hard time sticking to a paleo diet. Firstly, I’m really new to switching to it, which is a vulnerable, easy to cheat time. Secondly, due to my job, it’s hard to nail down chain times when I get to eat. I am thinking about cooking a week’s worth of food ahead of time and bringing it to work in a cooler. I’m not much of a cook, but I know preparing my own food is the best way to stick to the diet.” – Stephen (the paleo table)

Does this sound like you? Perhaps your routine is always different and you never know when lunch is around the corner. Making meals in advance will save the day.  Some suggestions from the site

  1.  Make all Meat and veggies for the week on your weekend.
    Put them into different containers, where you can put some in the freezer and some in the fridge.  Later in the week, they’ll take the food from the freezer and sit it in the fridge where it’ll be ready the next day.  Don’t season your meat until you eat, so you can vary the flavors.  If you have a microwave around, you can partially cook the meat, so when you microwave it, the meat will have some moisture.
  2. Have snacks prepared in advance. On Sunday you prepared all the containers. The night before, consolidate the food  in the fridge that you want for snack the next day.  This may be mini carrots, celery, bell pepper fries, apples, grapes, almond butter.  I also try to sneak at least an ounce of protein like a chicken strip, plus fat (almond butter, avocado, etc) to go along with my fruit or veggie.

  3. Like Fresh Veggies?  Purchase a steamer bag so you can add raw veggies in the morning, and microwave for steamed veggies for your meal later that day!  If you’re on the road like Stephen, many truck stops and gas stations have microwaves.



If you get into a real crunch, you can download an APP to your phone called Paleo A Go Go.  When eating out, it can help you make good fast food/restaurant decisions.  Please be aware that nothing from a  fast food restaurant will nourish your body, and restaurants most likely don’t use healthy oils to make their food.  Use Restaurants for socializing, meetings, and occasions and pretend fast food restaurant’s don’t exist.  If you go to a restaurant a couple times a week because you are too tired or don’t want to make a mess in the kitchen, ask friends for suggestions on efficiency and time management with your cooking and that’s another blog for another day 🙂

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

2 responses to “Paleo On the Go

  • Jen Sayers

    Hello fello bloggers! This is actually my 6th month of paleo but my first week of “true” paleo. I’ve given up on my almond and coconut milk/ice cream!!! That will no doubt be my biggest challenge. Canned coconut milk not quite the same – but I remember back six months ago when I couldn’t do without half-n-half with splenda either! Anything is possible. I too had to adapt to cooking and preparing multiple items in advance for the week and taking things with me on the go.

    • Liz Whitaker

      Great post. So many of us have hectic crazy schedules and making time to prepare food can be tough. But I’ve found that the method of cooking a bunch at once and eating on it for the week definitely works for our family.

      One thing I’ve been struggling with a little bit in these first few days of the challenge is having time to eat when I’m at work. I work at Furniture1st and we’re pretty crazy right now with the back to school frenzy. Sometimes I don’t get to eat lunch until 4 or 5pm. I will say, though, unlike my pre-Paleo days, I no longer turn into a crazy, scary beast-monster when I’m hungry like I used to.

      I love suggestion number three, I’m going to have to look into a steamer bag for on the go. That will help save some time for sure!

Leave a Reply

