Sunday Reflection

Day 2 of the Paleo Challenge! I hope everyone’s had a great weekend!  Yesterday at our meeting, we discussed Rules and Regulations within the challenge and What to Eat.  You can, also, find these topics on our blog with the tabs at the top. If you have questions or have a questionable food when you’re out and about, research your question first, then contact jenna@hoosiercrossfit.com and/or heather@hoosiercrossfit.com to talk with us about your findings!

Generally we reflect on how thihttp://www.hoosiercrossfit.com/events-calendar/ngs are going during your challenge, but since it’s 2 days in, lets shift our focus.  Yesterday, Megan brought up a great kitchen gadget that she loves!  It’s called the misto.  Instead of using Pam, we can now use your own olive oil to spray your favorite foods. Not only does this use less olive oil than drizzling, it’s also less messy.  Do you have a neat, efficient, gadget that you love to use when you cook?  My favorite is a utensil from pampered chef that mashes ground beef, turkey, chorizo, etc.  It’s the best way to ground anything! Share what it is and how you use it under comments!  (if it’s your first time commenting, It won’t show up until I accept your first post)

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

20 responses to “Sunday Reflection

  • Caitlin Mroz

    I don’t think I have a favorite gadget, except maybe our ginger grater. It took us forever to find one, and, in the end, we actually had to order it online and pay as much for shipping as for the stupid thing itself, but it was so worth it. No more huge, fibrous ginger pieces in our food.

  • Dave Rowe

    My favorite kitchen gadget is our Viking immersion blender. It is a great tool for blending soups or making sauces. It also comes with a small plastic container that can be attached in place of the immersion wand so it acts like a mini food processor when you need to make smaller portions. Last night I used it to make a sauce of basil, roasted garlic and lemon to go on top of our steak. Delicious.

  • Jen Smallwood

    My favorite, use-it-every-day kitchen item is my Simply Calphalon non-stick pan – http://www.amazon.com/Simply-Calphalon-Nonstick-12-Inch-Jumbo/dp/B001ASBBSG?SubscriptionId=03QSMTPMTKQ7WV6N8F02&tag=roltheboo-20 . Melissa Joulwan (The clothes Make the Girl blogger and author of Well Fed) recommended it and I adore it. It’s perfect for my favorite meat-veggie stirfry meals.

  • Darleesa Doss

    Okay honestly I’m not much of a cook-as I just started making my own meals recently. However, when I do prepare some my favorite meals I love using the Ninja to chop my vegetables, fruits, and even nuts. You can easily mince garlic, chop those onions (that would normally make you cry when you cut them), and even more exciting- make that yummy Paleo ice cream. The Ninja is cost efficient-grabbed it from Target for about $20. Secondly, it’s user friendly. This is definitely one handy tool to have in your kitchen.

    More information on the Ninja: http://www.target.com/p/shark-ninja-express-chop-gray/-/A-13742354#?lnk=sc_qi_detailbutton

  • Megan Abajian

    The two things I could not live without: my Misto and my chef’s knife. I have a Wustoff classic 8 in. It’s expensive, but this is the type of knife you will have forever. It makes food prep so easy and I can really tell the difference when I use a cheap knife. To me, this replaces mandolines, the slicing option of food processors, and several other gadgets that take up space. If I have these two items I can cook in any kitchen with ease.

    http://www.amazon.com/Wusthof-Classic-8-Inch-Cooks-Knife/dp/B00005MEH1

  • Jessica H.

    I can honestly say that zucchini noodles give “regular” pasta noodles a run for their money. I love using a julienne peeler to make these noodles (good for carrots and other veggies as well). They’re oddly difficult to find and can be a bit on the expensive side, but you can find a good deal on Amazon, for example: http://www.amazon.com/Zyliss-30700-Julienne-Peeler/dp/B0018ICHH2/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1344795239&sr=8-5&keywords=julienne+peeler

    Also, I just started to recycle my glass green tea bottles by brewing my own green tea at home and putting it in the bottles. It saves money and the earth 🙂

  • Adeyemi Doss

    My favorite kitchen gadget would have to be the “cast iron skillet”!!!! The cast iron skillet is a great gadget to use when preparing steaks, lamb, chicken, fish etc. It also serves a great home defense weapon!!!!

    http://www.crateandbarrel.com/lodge-cast-iron-round-skillet/f2397

  • Joe Bender

    I don’t have any really special kitchen tools that I use, but something that people might not have is a pair of kitchen scissors. Mine are Good Cook brand but it probably doesn’t matter what brand you get. I use them for cutting meats mostly but I also open up food packaging sometimes if there’s no way to easily tear it open. They’re great for making omelets actually because I can cut up cooked meats and vegetables quickly and sprinkle them onto cooking eggs. Mostly I think of them as a quick replacement for a knife and a cutting board.

  • Liz Whitaker

    I really think the only must-haves for a kitchen are a really good knife that works for you and a good-size heavy duty pan that can go from stove top to oven. I have a 12″ super deep, straight sided saute pan that I love love love for everything. I sear meat in it, saute veggies in it, make soups and stews, braise meats, etc. My fave knife is a Wustoff 7″ santoku knife. I use it for everything, even peeling small stuff. I’ve tried to using a julienne peeler for making squash and zucchini noodles, but I find it really difficult to use and have nicked myself a time or two. I can actually julienne a zucchini faster with my knife than with the peeler.

    If I had to pick an actual “gadget”, I would have to agree with Dave, immersion blenders rock. I have a cuisinart so old I have no idea where any attachments are for it other than the standard blend-y one. It’s the best for making super creamy vinaigrette dressings and making vegetable purees.

  • Dawn Volungis

    I like to use my Blender Bottle for scrambling eggs. The coil really helps similar to using a fork and it’s much more quickly. The bottles are also good for mixing other liquids and are good quality and leak-proof. They also have held up really well and haven’t taken on any smells like some other plastic products do. http://www.blenderbottle.com/

  • Staci Murphy

    Cuisinart 7 Cup Food Processor. Great for chopping food, making soups, dressings & sauces and easy to clean up!!

  • Luke Murphy

    My wife!!!!

  • Kathy H.

    I went and picked up a Misto. I had something similar but cheaply made and it jammed after the first use. I like the feel of this one and am hoping it lasts! I also picked up a small digital scale so I can keep better track of portion sized. Lastly, I got some snack sized baggies and measured out one serving of each of my bags of nuts so I don’t overdo it accidentally on those. None of those is really my favorite “gadget.” That would probably be my SodaStream. http://www.sodastreamusa.com/ It comes with flavors, but I just like the fizzy water plain.

  • Jenise R.

    Wow! Everyone has some great kitchen ideas – that means I am gonnna have to go shopping! I am a kitchen gadget junkie and a pampered chef addict. I have the meat masher utensil and absolutely love it, I’ve made everyone in my extended family buy one and would recommend it to anyone. My favorite gadget though has got to be my deep covered baker from pampered chef. This thing makes it so easy to put a delicious home baked meal on the table in no time. It can go in the microwave (if you have a big enough microwave) and make things taste like they’ve been in the oven all afternoon. It’s pricey and clunky – but well worth it. In fact, I think they have a smaller one out now for those that aren’t cooking for the entire family. http://www.pamperedchef.com/ordering/prod_details.tpc?prodId=13833&words=deep covered baker

  • Dana Runnebohm

    My favorite gadget has been around forever. I love my crockpot! It makes preparing meals for the week so much easier. I think it will get me through this challenge without feeling like I’m cooking ALL of the time. First up: paleo chili!

  • Denise

    I suppose my favorite gadget is a hand mixer that crushes ice with your drink in a tall cup (smoothies), but it also came with a fairly good sized chopper/food processor bowl and blades that you can attach the hand mixer to and crush nuts, onions, veggies, etc with. I use it to make up a stash of the Non-oat oatmeal mixture or to crush up nuts for the “paleo bars”. The bowl part comes with a lid also, so after crushing up the nuts you can put the lid on it! Love it!

  • Jen Sayers

    I “used to be” a kitchen gadget junky – then I had kids and well…things changed. Right now, I can’t do without my mister – but I have been using the same one for many years – from pampered chef. My favorite “lazy” use for it is to spray a bowl in am – add my 2 eggs and throw in microwave! I also love my “scoops” for avocado, fruits, etc. and don’t forget the grapefruit spoon 🙂

Leave a Reply

