Hidden causes of GERD!

too much acid

“Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD), a more serious form of acid reflux.  It is the most common digestive disorderin the United States. Studies show that 10-20% of individuals experience symptoms at least once a week, and prevalence of GERD is increasing steadily.”  Personally, I experienced for many years issues with digestion.  It’s not that I was irresponsible with my diet (even though I was), More importantly, no one was pushing that diet could fix the problem for good.

“Recent studies also show that the damage from poor stomach function and GERD not only extends upward to the sensitive esophageal lining, but also downward through the digestive tract, contributing to Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) and other gastrointestinal problems. IBS is now the second-leading cause of missed work, behind only the common cold.”

Bacterial overgrowth + maldigested carbohydrates = GAS! Though microbes are able to metabolize proteins and even fats, their preferred energy source is carbohydrate. The fermentation of carbohydrates that haven’t been digested properly produces gas. The resulting gas increases intra-abdominal pressure, which is the driving force behind acid reflux and GERD.

Article 1 includes what it is and why it’s a problem: article 1

Article 2 includes how it becomes a problem because of what we eat:  article 2


About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

One response to “Hidden causes of GERD!

  • Karen

    I read the article on GERD, part I-_III. It is full of info that I hope my solve my problem that was recently diagnosis as subglottic stenosis. The DR. thought a contributing factor may be acid reflux and has put me on propranazole. I always assumed that I had too much acid but it actually may be the opposite. I plan on trying to add fermented food to my diet as well as further diet modifications. I may add probiotics to improve my gut health as well as taking hcl and pepsin. Wish me luck. I never want to have my esophagus/trachea to be obstructed again. I plan on bring this article to my ENT at IUMC in May.

Leave a Reply

