Weekly Reflection #2

Ah! Week 2 down! 2 weeks to go!  I hope you’ve been enjoying these last couples weeks of paleo heaven.  Many of you have taken a look at Zone portions from yesterday’s post and realized a few changes that need to be made to your meals.  If you feel that you need more energy, are struggling with hunger issues, or strive for precision, then weighing and measuring may be right for you.  Borrow Mastering The Zone and/or Entering the Zone books from the gym can be helpful.  Also look to PaleoBlocks for internet help.

Tells us how you’re 2nd week went!

  • Did you change anything about your 2nd week from your 1st week?
  • Do you feel any changes in your WODs, mood, sleep, etc?
  • Share a Recipe that you can’t stop thinking about!

Here’s one from Scott C sent to me via text earlier this week!!

pre-heat oven 400 degrees.  Marinate sockeye salmon overnight in olive oil and garlic. Bake 10 minutes.

On the stove top, combine okra, zucchini, spinach, onion, red pepper with fresh basil, rosemary, pepper, and oregano.

 

 

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

24 responses to “Weekly Reflection #2

  • Audra

    It seems a little crazy that it’s already been 2 weeks! I started to feel really good at the end of the 1st week and it has continued into the 2nd week. There’s always room for more veggies in my diet, so making sure I ate more of them was a goal I had in mind for week 2. I think I did a pretty good job, especially since veggies haven’t really been a mainstay in my diet….ever. I had a veggie at each of my main meals and even in my snacks sometimes. I’d like to keep that going this week and attempt to increase veggies a bit. Another goal for me was/is to get into a better sleep pattern. Some nights I get more than enough and other nights I’m not getting what I need, especially for 6am WODs! Getting enough sleep definitely affects me, as I noticed this week how much better I felt all day if I got enough sleep. I’ve generally been feeling really good during WODs and just throughout the day, but I totally had a case of the Mondays on Friday. I was dragging all day, had an off day at the gym, and I definitely didn’t get enough sleep the night before. I was more consistent with getting good amounts of sleep during week 2, but definitely still have room to improve.
    As far as recipes go, I’ve made this egg casserole at least once a month since last summer. It gives me breakfast for most of a week, and I change it up a little every time I make it. I got it from http://paleomg.com/savory-breakfast-casserole/
    Also, I made these bacon and egg muffin things during week 1 and they were tasty: http://www.katiekdid.com/2011/12/29/a-post-crossfit-snack/
    Lastly, I roasted a whole chicken each week so far and it’s been awesome! I’d never done it before, but it’s so easy! Plus, a whole chicken is cheaper than the various cuts, and it’s a lot of meat (for me at least, I’m only feeding me though). I just shove some chopped onion and a few garlic cloves inside the chicken and then roast it in the oven at 350 for 20minutes/pound, plus an extra 15-20 minutes.

  • Jennylynn Vidas

    Week 2 has been another step in establishing this new Crossfit lifestyle. Not only have I been getting more comfortable with the Paleo diet, but this was also my first full week of HCF WODs. I chose to jump right in with 5 WODs between Monday and Saturday! (I’m only a little sore) 😉

    Anyway, the challenges I discovered with Paleo this week dealt with resisting “bad food” temptations during unavoidable situations. Inevitably, someone will insist on ordering pizza during a school or work related meeting, or even worse, I order catered food (like cupcakes and chocolate-covered strawberries) for an event I have planned. Resisting the temptation to eat these foods, that I would have otherwise enjoyed without much thought or hesitation, has made me realize how often in any given week this happened. I was mindlessly consuming these types of food, habitually chowing down on whatever crap food was passed in my direction, as though it didn’t count because everyone else was doing it too. In preparation for these events, I attempted to eat a satisfying meal so that I would be too full to be tempted, however it was still a challenge. It’s interesting that my Paleo experience so far has really made me notice some food habits that I never even realized I had.

    Some of my favorite foods this week have been:
    Guacamole (I’ve been eating it with carrots a lot this week)
    -1 avocado
    -1-2 cloves of garlic (pressed)
    -1 T finely minced onion
    -1/2 lime juice
    -1-2 T cilantro
    -Salt & pepper to taste
    *Mix everything up and enjoy! I like to keep things simple with my guac. Lots of garlic and lots of lime.

    Pan-seared Cod Fillet with Lemon Dill sauce
    -1-2 T. olive oil (more if needed)
    -Cod fillets (# depending on how many you’re serving)
    -Salt & Pepper
    -Lemon juice (to taste)
    – 1 tsp. Dill (to taste)
    -2-3 garlic cloves (pressed or minced)
    *This is SO easy and fast. I get frozen cod fillets from Sam’s Club and they’re excellent. Heat saute pan with oil, add fillet and season with salt and pepper. Cover for 3-5 minutes then flip fillet until fish is white in center (another 2-3 min). Remove fillet, and add about 1 T. more oil, garlic, lemon juice, dill, and salt and pepper to drippings in pan. Simmer for another 3-5 minutes and pour over cod fillets. Enjoy!

  • Jen Smallwood

    Week two was busy, busy, busy for me! And with traveling last weekend and another birthday party event yesterday, PLUS another food event at work this past week I had a lot of opportunities to choose non-paleo foods. However, despite a general lack of planning this week, I found it quite easy to resist even the most tempting of temptations. For my work event, I made sure that the dish that I brought was a main dish and completely paleo (delicious crockpot recipe I’ll share in a moment.) And thank goodness that I did– even though there were dozens of people at this event, the only other paleo items were crudites and a pile of grapes someone brought. AND, multiple people asked me for MY healthy paleo recipe, so nah-nah-nah to all the cookie and macaroni-n-cheese makers who were there! For my birthday party event, like Jennylynn, I also made sure to eat plenty beforehand (plenty of protein) and consciously decided that I was NOT going to have anything while I was there. I considered taking food with me “just in case” I was tempted, but upon realizing that waiting until afterwards would only be four or five hours without food, I thought that it was ridiculous to take food with me because I wouldn’t be actually hungry during that time frame. It seemed that if I took food with me I’d be EXPECTING to “not be able to handle” being around junk food. But I know that I can, and so when offered, I simply said, “No thank you.” Easy as that. 🙂

    Anyway, here’s my recipe:

    Ingredients
    1 tablespoon olive oil
    3 pounds skinless chicken thighs
    salt and ground black pepper to taste
    1/4 cup loosely packed cilantro leaves
    2 large sweet potatoes, cut into chunks
    1 red bell pepper, cut into strips
    1/2 cup chicken broth
    1/4 cup loosely packed cilantro leaves
    1 cup hot salsa
    2 teaspoons ground cumin
    1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
    3 large cloves garlic, chopped
    lime wedges, for garnish

    The recipe calls for 2 cans of black beans, which obviously I left out. it also calls for pre-browning the chicken in olive oil, which you can do if you have time, but I didn’t, and it was fine. Basically, put the chicken in the bottom of the crockpot, throw 1/4 c of the cilantro on top and then the sweet potatoes and red bell pepper. Mix everything else together in a mixing bowl (including the OTHER 1/4 c of cilantro) and pour over the top. Cook for FOUR hours on LOW. (it’s a quickie as far as crockpots go.) Letting it cook longer just makes everything mushier, but it’ll still taste yummy.

    You can use mild or medium or whatever kind of salsa. I used a medium fresh salsa– read the ingredients on these. There is a brand in a rectangle container at Kroger that does NOT have sugar in it. The ones in the round containers= “Jacks”- (these are refrigerated in the cheese or produce sections depending on the Kroger) DO have sugar added.

    I have noticed already a huge diference in the way my clothes are fitting, too!!! But I did start mostly a paleo diet about two weeks before hte challenge, and strict paleo the week before (though I didn’t start weighing and measuring myself until the challenge actually started, for fairness). 🙂

    • Jen Smallwood

      Oh, and another quick thing– for myself, about once a week I have found the most yummy “dessert” that is easy and doesn’t require me to do any baking. I simply cut a banana in half lengthwise, melt a small square of 88 or 90% dark chocolate to drizzle over it, and sprinkle some chopped walnuts. I eat this with a fork. After eating paleo for a few weeks, it tastes as delicious as the most decadent dessert EVER did to me. Obviously, not an every night thing, but I LOVE that eating a banana feels like an indulgence!!!!!

  • Jenn H

    Week 2 down…I do enjoy reading everyones posts. I feel like I am going through the motions, and not really getting to try new things. My schedule is busy..like everyones, and it is not consistant. This makes planning a challenge as well. I have been able to cook my meals and have them divided up into small containers to take with me. Squeezing in 5-6 WOD a week is very difficult, but my boys have been really good about doing homework at HCF before heading to basketball practices. I feel much better, working hard and getting in more veggies, and getting rid of the fluff….as Heather reminds me of everyday! I made the mistake of getting on the scale yesterday….was hoping for some positive feedback…YIKES. Not the way to go. I hope to continue to improve with my veggie consumption throughtout the challenge.

  • Andy

    I’m 2 weeks into my first Paleo challenge. While I’m not going to lie and say it’s been easy for me, I will admit it has been eye opening. As a busy grad student I didn’t realize that I was not planning my diet in any way, which inevitably leads to ordering something unhealthy or taking a quick trip to Mother Bear’s. Planning out my meals over the last 2 weeks has helped me to avoid these situations. I don’t plan on staying completely Paleo after the challenge, but I do think continuing this habit of planning ahead will help me to keep a healthier and more balanced diet long term.
    A couple of foods I have enjoyed this week…
    Mashed sweet potatoes
    Peel 4-5 sweet potatoes and cut them in large chunks. Boil them until they are just fork tender. Drain and roughly mash. Add about 1/2 cup of coconut milk, a small drizzle of honey, some cinnamon, and some cayenne pepper. Mix with a hand mixer. They go really well with grilled pork chops or steak.

    The second food I have enjoyed is not a recipe, but a store bought discovery. I’m usually very picky about guacamole and make my own. I was in a hurry this week and saw Wholly Guacamole in the produce section. I looked at the ingredients, realized it was Paleo friendly, and decided to give it a try. It turned out to be really good. I’ve been using it as a dip for vegetables and putting it on grilled meats.

  • Heather

    Week 2 for me, personally, was like a roller coaster – good news is my paleo-ness was not affected by it. I continue to learn more and more about Paleo/Zone and I am starting to really believe in it. Before, I never knew how much was enough- how much was too much and zone really answers those questions for me. I will say I am really anxious to see what my “results” are here in 2 weeks. I’ve been pretty strict with my diet for about a year now and as some of you know, I continue to gain weight (which is frustrating- as it is for anyone) so I am hoping portioning EVERYTHING will make SOME kind of a difference. Besides the “weight” scheme of things, I have sooo much more energy and I never feel like I am going to crash throughout the day- Must be all those veggies I’m eating! My WOD’s this week started off pretty rough- It just wasn’t my week- I wasn’t there mentally- well until Friday I had a pretty big PR (that I am still smiling about) and hope to see more improvements in the gym as the challenge continues.

    If I have learned anything (already) from this challenge it is to 1. EAT MORE VEGGIES! If you think you’re already eating a lot- you’re probably not. 2. Cut out the fluff! When it comes down to the nitty gritty – paleo is meat and veggies- it’s not meat, veggies, a can of tomato sauce, a can of tomato paste, coconut milk, a little honey to sweeten it up, salsa and whatever “others” you can thrown in that category (this is just hard ass Heather speaking right now) Although, you sure can make a yummy meal with all of those things- you can make an even better one if you just keep it simple! (that’s my 2 cents)

    This has been my “go to” recipe this week
    KALE CHIPS!
    (very similar to Michelle Y.’s Kale Chips)

    1 bunch kale
    Olive oil
    garlic powder
    cayenne pepper
    cinnamon
    chili powder

    Rinse the kale and pick the leaves off of the ‘stem’
    pour a little olive oil in the bottom on a frying pan and heat to medium
    while it is heating in a bowl mix together your kale, a little more olive oil, and spices (I eyeballed the spices – and cinnamon sounds weird but it is delicious!)
    Mix until all leaves are coated
    Dump kale on the pan and let cook about 3 minutes and then stir it until the top of the leaves turn ‘brown’ and are wilted
    then boom! you’re done!

    Keep it up Paleo’ers! I am always here for support if anyone needs it!!! 🙂

  • Claire H.

    Wow, second week! I am slowly starting to get used to everything. This week I made a pumpkin chicken casserole to eat on and added a side of veggies with the meal and that really helped with convenience and time. I think I did better about limiting the fruit and nuts between meals, however the past day or two I’ve been in a funk and feel like I’ve relied on them more instead of a balanced meal (before paleo I used to count the weekends as “free” and didn’t worry about my diet as much, I think I might have slipped into that mind set). But anyway, I am also starting to learn how to balance my grocery list so that it keeps me with different options throughout the week. It really helped having carrots and peppers in the house to munch on between meals. My mood has been awesome, I can’t remember the last time I’ve felt this “steady” for such an extended period of time. And like Audra said, I can tell a huge difference in my day depending on the amount of sleep I get the night before. WODs felt good, I wanted to go 5 days this week but took Thursday off (dang pull-ups on Wednesday!), so my goal for week 3 is 5 WODs. Also wanted to add that I bought some dress pants over Christmas break and had to exchange them yesterday for a size smaller 🙂 whoo hooo! Here’s the link to the pumpkin chicken casserole I made
    http://paleomg.com/paleo-pumpkin-cream-chicken-casserole/

  • Cara Hays

    This week was really difficult for me. Every night this week I had really horrible stomach aches and originally thought I had been consuming too many nuts or too much sugar from fruit. So, I made that adjustment and the stomach aches continued. I couldn’t figure out what was going on, and finally decided to get it looked at. Apparently I have all the symptoms of a stomach ulcer- which sucks. So, I’ve been feeling really horrible, but did not break the paleo diet (even though all I really wanted was some non-paleo soup and ice cream)!

    Besides that little issue, I was really intrigued by Jenna’s post yesterday about zone-paleo. I looked into it a little bit and realized I was eating close to the amount of protein I needed and maybe 1/3 of the carbohydrates I need. The past few days I have been really focusing on eating enough and plan to continue that throughout this week. I cut up all the vegetables that I need to eat for breakfast everyday this week, so I just have to make sure I continue it throughout the day.

    A recipe I really enjoyed this week was a mashed sweet potato, which has a lot of sugar in it- so don’t go crazy! it’s dessert! This is for 1-2 servings:

    about 1/3 of a sweet potato
    about 1/3 banana
    coconut milk
    honey
    cinnamon

    Cut the sweet potato into cubes and boil them. Then, mash them with the banana (I just threw it all in my ninja and it went really fast). Add the honey, cinnamon, and coconut milk to desired consistency. Then, I put it in a pyrex dish and broiled them for like 5-10 minutes.

    sorry my directions suck- i don’t measure anything or watch the time!
    hope everyone has a good week!

  • Ellie

    for some reason this whole week I’ve been f-ing exhausted. I feel ok when I wake up, and as the day progresses I feel lethargic and I’ve been feeling weak in the gym. I think this has nothing to do with Paleo and my body is just fighting something off. (my nose has been kinda runny too, so that’s my theory). hopefully next week will be better. I think it’s also partially that I never physically rest. I can’t remember the last time I took a rest day. it’s hard because I love crossfit so much, but I love yoga equally and I teach Pilates…so it’s always something. I need tj get better about scheduling rest time. anyway this week in terms of cooking has been great!! I made a pretty kick ass version of mashed cauliflower today, so that was exciting. I’ve been experimenting with paleo-fyig my favorite international food dishes–with relative success! in the past few days I’ve added lots more veggies…. I was always a big veggie eater but honestly there’s only so many raw peppers and carrots you can eat, so I started pureeing veggies to get more volume into my diet and that definitely helps. im looking forward to seeing if eating more vegetables will boost my energy next week!

    I’m with heather…I’ve gained weight on paleo. since I started eating paleo back in October I have put on a couple pounds but all my jeans fit–the only thing I notice is my back is a little wider. i think this means my muscles are getting bigger. yeeeahh! for me, paleo isn’t about losing weight or inches. I’m trying to gain strength and muscle which is really hard for me. I think that’s the coolest thing about paleo–it does for you what you want it to do. a lot of people lose weight with it but you can also gain muscle with it too. I’m not taking any pills or drinking any of those crap science recovery drinks….just meat and veggies. and it works!

    • Ellie

      I forgot a recipe:

      mashed cauliflower:

      remove all the stems and leaves from a head of cauliflower. cut into florets. bring to a boil in a medium saucepan with one cup (or so, depending on size of cauliflower) of free range organic chicken broth. add two garlic cloves and 1/4 tsp black pepper. after it is boiling, cover and turn on medium heat for 15-20 minutes. then drain broth, put cauliflower into food processor and blend until creamy adding drained chicken broth slowly if necessary. yum.

  • Dru

    week two was great for me because I planned better and felt better too. I’ve tried several ‘diets’ in my lifetime and admit that the paleo plan seemed a bit extreme to me because it cut out entire food groups. however, now that I’m in week two and feel as good as I do I’m beginning to wonder if it’s not what my body has needed all along.
    for the first time ever I honestly don’t have cravings – which is pretty wild and I’m hopeful continues. I feel very satisfied with this eating lifestyle so far!
    here’s my go-to quick lunch:

    in a salad bowl combine;
    broccoli slaw (bagged and amazingly delicious)
    chicken breast torn into chunks (rotisserie chicken or cooked at home)
    raw almonds, slivered
    sliced avocado (optional)
    splash of balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil

  • chadd

    Week 2 has been alright as far as paleo goes. I have lost about an inch off my waist since we started, but hopefully I am making that up in muscle as I don’t really want to lose very much weight (only body fat). My main issue as of now is that I go extended periods of time (2-3 hours) without eating anything because I am not hungry and then during some workouts I feel like I don’t have enough energy. Whether its just a tough workout or I don’t have enough food in me is of course up for debate. I have been focusing on eating a bit more snacks to see if it makes a difference.

    • chadd

      On a side note I went a bit off paleo for a Valentines Day stay at French Lick and I will be curious to see the effects of an occasional lapse. Particularly since I have been very strict in staying paleo.

  • Sam Spade

    Week Two! Here it goes:

    1. I didn’t really change anything for this week, compared to last. I continue to incorporate vegetables into each meal, which worked very well for me during the October challenge. This time around, we are eating more interesting dishes for dinner while keeping it simple for lunches/snacks at work. This is what works for me. What doesn’t work for me is measuring portions, counting calories/points, etc. When I was about 12, my Mom forced me into a “fat camp” at the hospital in Omaha. It was forced calorie/intake counting and ‘teaching’ us physical activity. For me, it was a nightmare. This is the reason I refuse to do anything with food related to Weight Watchers or calorie counting, etc. It makes me hate food, and I don’t wanna hate food. This is why I like Paleo: it doesn’t restrict how much food I can eat (at least my version doesn’t).

    2. The change I noticed the most happened yesterday in Saturday’s Team WOD. First of all, my apologies to anyone who hated that. The previous week, I was screwing around with Shaun, saying we should play “CrossFit H.O.R.S.E”. I never expected him to realize it into an actual WOD. My bad. Anyway, what occurred during that WOD was pretty cool. I was teamed up with Culley and Paul, and just doing 20 seconds of each exercise helped to push me as close to my limit as I’ve gone. So, I usually do knee pushups and pullups with a blue band. Well, in this WOD, the guys did toe pushups and strict kipping pullups. I was amazed with myself. After Culley completed 19 toe pushups, I was able to do 15, albeit sloppy, toe pushups after him. And when Paul did 11 strict kipping pullups, I followed with 11 of the same…again, pretty sloppy, I’m sure. I’m proud of myself for just going after each one, doing what I did, and feeling satisfied with my effort after, even if it wasn’t as good as someone else. I also PRed my 1RM box jump to 38.5″, as well as my 1RMs for snatch and overhead squat to 115#. I’m a big guy, so maybe those numbers aren’t that impressive to some, but to me, they’re huge. I really feel like the work I’m putting in at the WOD and Oly Lifting are paying off, and I know that how I’m fueling my body is a huge part of that.

    3. Okay, so I’m running out of time, so I can’t share them this very second, but I will post them tomorrow afternoon if they entice you. Two recipes from the Well-Fed cookbook that I LOOOOOOVE!!! One is the Chicken Pad Thai. Instead of noodles, spaghetti squash is used and instead of peanut sauce, a sun-butter sauce is used. Awesome! The other one is an Eggplant Strata, which is layers of eggplant, tomato sauce, an egg custard and homemade sausage! I could eat this every day!!! So, I will get back on tomorrow when I’m back from Indy and get these on the blog. Or, let me know and I can make some copies of these and leave them at the gym.

    Wow. Long post. I’m done. Have a great week!!!

  • Shannon

    Here is the recipe I made (that let’s be honest, wasn’t all that great-and I got the recipe from a Vegetarian blog…ironic? LOL)…But I did tweak the recipe after the Super Bowl, and actually will make my version again. I added a seasoning mixture found online here (to taste): http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/2011/05/24/homemade-rogan-josh-seasoning/
    This seasoning has quickly become my go-to… The recipe follows:

    Beans Get the Boot With This Gluten-Free Hummus

    Get your veggies and essential fatty acids in one fell swoop…

    What You Need

    1 large head cauliflower, chopped (about 3 cups)
    1 small white onion, diced
    1 scallion, chopped
    2 cloves garlic, minced { less is more, people!}
    1/2 cup fresh basil, finely chopped
    1 tablespoon lemon juice
    1/4 cup vegetable broth
    1/6 teaspoon sea salt
    1/4 teaspoon crushed white pepper {I used black}
    2 teaspoon flax oil
    2 tablespoons flax seeds {I used ground}
    {water- this mixture didn’t blend too easily in my Vita Mixer, so I gradually added H20 until I got the right consistency}

    How to Make It

    Combine all ingredients in a food processor or blender. Process until smooth; remove and transfer to a serving dish. Serve atop a salad or as a dip with gluten-free crackers and crudites. Enjoy!

  • Shannon

    This is the recipe I made tonight AND I WILL MAKE IT AGAIN AND AGAIN, Trust me, if you try it, you will too 🙂

    Moroccan Spiced Lamb Meatballs in Cumin Coriander Spiced Tomato Sauce
    Recipe courtesy Quinz Restaurant

    Prep Time:40 minInactive Prep Time: — Cook Time:30 min
    Level:
    Intermediate
    Serves:
    about 32 meatballs, about 6 servings
    Ingredients
    Meatballs:
    2 1/2 pounds ground lamb {Fischer Farms from Sahara Mart}
    Spice Mix, recipe follows
    1 egg {I forgot this until after I formed the meat balls, so I left it out}
    1/2 cup ketchup { OMITTED}
    Meatball Sauce:
    2 tablespoons olive oil [ coconut oil}
    1/2 cup minced onion
    1 tablespoon minced garlic
    1 tablespoon minced shallots
    2 cinnamon sticks { 2 TBSP of ground cinnamon}
    1 tablespoon ground cumin, toasted* { DID NOT TOAST}
    1 tablespoon ground coriander, toasted { REPEAT-NOT TOASTED}
    4 cups tomato puree {Jarred ‘Just Tomatoes’ from Sahara Mart: local tom, canned in juice, no salt, sugar or additives says so on the jar in ALL CAPS- no less-which I pureed in my Vita Mix w/ fresh garlic and basil leaves}
    1 cup vegetable or chicken stock {Pacific Natural Foods-Organic Low-Sodium Veg Broth}
    Salt and freshly ground black pepper { sea salt, plain blk. pepper}
    1 tablespoon thinly sliced mint leaves { omitted}
    1 tablespoon minced Italian parsley leaves{ traded out for fresh basil}
    Slivered almonds, toasted, for garnish{ omitted}
    Chopped fresh mint leaves, for garnish {omit}
    Warmed pita wedges, for serving{ NO WAY…}
    Directions
    *Cook’s Note: To toast spices, heat in a small, dry skillet over low heat until fragrant.

    Meatballs:

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

    In a large bowl, mix lamb, Spice Mix, egg, and ketchup, being careful not to overwork the meat. Form into 1 1/4-ounce balls, about the size of a ping-pong ball. Place meatballs on a large baking sheet and bake for approximately 20 minutes.

    Sauce:

    In a large saucepan over medium heat, add the oil and heat, then add the onions and lightly saute until soft. Add garlic, shallots, cinnamon sticks, cumin, and coriander and saute over low heat, about 3 to 4 minutes. Add tomato puree and bring to a boil. Add stock and season sauce with salt, ground black pepper, mint, and parsley. Simmer for about 10 minutes and remove the cinnamon sticks.

    To serve: Add the meatballs to the sauce and heat until warmed through. Pour a small amount of sauce on the plate and add 5 meatballs per serving. Garnish with toasted slivered almonds, mint, and warm pita wedges.

    Spice Mix:
    1 tablespoon ground coriander, toasted
    1 tablespoon ground cumin, toasted
    1 teaspoon curry powder
    1 tablespoon garlic powder
    1 teaspoon onion powder {omitted}
    1 teaspoon dried oregano {dried purple basil instead}
    1 teaspoon dried thyme
    3/4 teaspoon ground mustard{ Roland 100% Organic Grained Dijon Mustard}
    3/4 teaspoon paprika {omit}
    1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
    1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    1/2 teaspoon chili powder
    Salt and freshly ground black pepper
    In a medium bowl, mix all the spices together. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

    ***I baked some spaghetti squash to served it over***

    * Restaurant Recipe
    This recipe was provided by professional chefs and has been scaled down from a bulk recipe provided by a restaurant. Food Network Kitchens have not tested this recipe in the proportions indicated and therefore cannot make representation as to the results.

  • Pam W

    The past two weeks eating Paleo hasn’t been hard but I haven’t lost any weight either. After talking with Heather about her zone paleo diet, I realized my portion sizes for protein and actually everything are way out of control. Hey, I like my food. haha My goal for the rest of the challenge is to cut back on my portions and load up more on veggies to fill me up.
    I also have been sick this past week and not sleeping well so my energy level has been low and that doesn’t help my workouts either, Hopefully that is on the way out and I can see some bigger changes these next few weeks.
    I would say the chicken salad we make is a good staple for taking for lunches and a quick meal. I tend to add different spices and change the mayo up a bit but the basic recipe is the same.

    Paleo Mayo:
    2 eggs
    1/2 t garlic
    2 tsp dill
    2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
    mustard that’s allowed (optional)
    pinch of salt
    1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

    blend that in a blender and then while the blender is going, VERY slowly add 2 cups of olive oil. You may have to stop and stir it a little then continue pouring until desired thickness.
    Then I taste it and add more spices as I feel it needs it.

    Then we usually grill about 8-10 chicken breasts in seasonings (that can vary) cut it up and add in a big bowl, Add in chopped celery, red onions, grapes and cashews. I don’t measure these, just add desired amount. Then mix in the mayo. Of course then I add more garlic powder, onion powder and seasonings to taste. Then store in the fridge.

  • Andy W

    I have done much better this time around than the last challenge. I had had less cravings and eating Paleo has been easier now that we have recipes we enjoy and plan meals out in advance.
    I have been going to the gym about 6 days a week and have felt pretty good. I need to work on adding more veggies in for breakfast but have been doing pretty well other than that.
    Today I tried a twist on Jameson’s moms energy bars and they turned out pretty well.

    I took 1 c pecans
    1/2 c walnuts
    1/2 c almonds
    1/2 c cashews
    1 c unsweetened coconut
    1/2 cup almond meal
    1 c enjoy life choc chips
    1/3 c almond butter
    1/2 c coconut oil
    2 T vanilla
    2 T honey

    Chop all nuts in a food processor, add other dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, add the honey, coconut oil,vanilla and melt in the microwave for about 45 sec. Combine that with the dry ingredients and stir. Then thinly spread on a cookie sheet and put in the freezer for 30 min. Remove and cut into squares

  • Claire H

    Not sure why my post isn’t showing up so if it posts two times sorry..

    Wow, second week! I am slowly starting to get used to everything. This week I made a pumpkin chicken casserole to eat on and added a side of veggies with the meal and that really helped with convenience and time. I think I did better about limiting the fruit and nuts between meals, however the past day or two I’ve been in a funk and feel like I’ve relied on them more instead of a balanced meal (before paleo I used to count the weekends as “free” and didn’t worry about my diet as much, I think I might have slipped into that mind set). But anyway, I am also starting to learn how to balance my grocery list so that it keeps me with different options throughout the week. It really helped having carrots and peppers in the house to munch on between meals. My mood has been awesome, I can’t remember the last time I’ve felt this “steady” for such an extended period of time. And like Audra said, I can tell a huge difference in my day depending on the amount of sleep I get the night before. WODs felt good, I wanted to go 5 days this week but took Thursday off (dang pull-ups on Wednesday!), so my goal for week 3 is 5 WODs. Also wanted to add that I bought some dress pants over Christmas break and had to exchange them yesterday for a size smaller whoo hooo! Here’s the link to the pumpkin chicken casserole I made
    http://paleomg.com/paleo-pumpkin-cream-chicken-casserole/

  • Denice Stonier

    Week two was better and my goal was to eat a veggie with breakfast and most mornings I did. I also tried to eat more veggies throughout the day.
    My pain I was having with back and knees is a lot better and hence making for a sound sleep better. I feel a little more alert but full of energy I am still waiting on improvement. Eating Paleo will have to heal some health issues before I think that happens.
    I made stuffed eggplant from the Everyday Paleo cookbook and to my surprise everybody liked it. Well Tyler at least ate it….. He is not to happy with mom and paleo eating, but Heather’s Choc. Chip bar things help him and Scott through the weekend. Keep up the great work everyone for week three.

Leave a Reply

