Coconut Milk

Can anyone tell me why Silk Coconut milk and So Delicious Coconut Milk products (and almond milk) are not on my paleo list this time around? 

The goal of our Paleo challenge is to give you the opportunity to cut habit and addiction.  It’s normal, at first, to find ways to make “cereal” out of nuts or bake some beets for that chippy “crunch.”  This is fine because we are connecting the known with the unknown.  But, you’re sabotaging your hard work over the next 30 days if you’re going to continue to find loop holes or make exceptions if there’s only a little added sugar in the Craisins or only a little bit of canola oil used for deep fried vegetables. Don’t waste these 30 days and make the Most of it!  What I suggest to use instead is coconut milk from the can.  It still includes a bit of guar gum, but this is a more acceptable option. Right now, it’s $1.99 at Sahara Mart.  A little bit goes a long way; I’ll put a spoon full in my coffee and I’ll top it on my nut cereal.

   
I expected the can to be milk, but about 1/2 of the can is a solid coconut whipped cream-type substance.  You can get creative with it.  I took it all out of the can when I opened it, put it in another container and stored it in the fridge.  I’ve had it for nearly a week now, using it in my coffee and sometimes top it on the nut cereal.   My last serving will be tomorrow.
About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

10 responses to “Coconut Milk

  • kenya

    Can anyone tell me why Silk Coconut milk and So Delicious Coconut Milk products (and almond milk) are not on my paleo list this time around?
    Cane juice and natural flavors have been added…that’s my guess.

  • Cara Hays

    i’m really weird about the textures of my food, and really can’t handle the chunks of coconut milk in my coffee lol so if anyone else is like me, throw it in the blender for a few minutes! It smoothes it out and thickens up a little bit!

  • Audra

    My friend who got her degree in dietetics informed me today that guar gum is a totally natural plant-based ingredient. She said it’s used as a thickener. Just a little fyi about that other ingredient in the canned coconut milk 🙂

  • Audra

    Also, about the half liquid, half semi-solid thing…..coconut separates really easily so shake the can really well before you open it or throw it all in the blender like Cara suggested to get it all back to one consistency.

  • hcfchallenge

    it seems that the guar gum is a legume; it’s acceptable in our challenge as it’s unavoidable in the canned milk. there’s a lot of plant-based ingredients people didn’t know causes inflammation in the body and irritation to the gut…food for thought….

    the chunks melt in my coffee…I haven’t yet explored toppings or desserts with it. i’m scared that i’ll love it too much 😉

  • Shannon

    I think Native Forest Organic canned coconut milk cans all of their products in BPA free lined cans if anyone else was concerned w/Bisphenol A . I am waiting to hear back from the company on that though.

Leave a Reply

