Excuses = Addict

Sometimes I find myself and many others saying the following, “Well, I had a long day…” “Well, I didn’t have enough time to…” “Well, I just didn’t have self control.”  These are not reasons. They are excuses.  We all say them and we need to stop.  Are you committed to your paleo challenge?  Many of you, YES!  Your answer to the questions above included, “I realized I had to prepare in advance,” “I realized I had bad habits to break and I didn’t even know they were habits!” and my favorite by Angie, “I was amazed at the will power I had.”

For those of you who are experiencing serious food withdrawls, I need you to consider this.  Someone is in Rehab right now for drugs or alcohol.  Does this person “love” their Jack and Crack or are they addicted to their Jack and Crack?  They think they love it just like you think you love rolls at Texas Roadhouse.  So now, you compare food addiction and crack, then say that I’m way off base, that they are on totally different level.  But, the reality is, heart disease is the #1 killer in America, and a whole schlew of personal problems that affect livelihood (depression, sex drive, acne, arthritis, all digestion problems) can be fixed or prevented.  Your addiction to food is more socially acceptable, and therefore doesn’t sound so bad.

This post is meant to turn you on to the realities – kind of the way you hated when your mom and dad was right and you didn’t want them to be.  You are an addict, and the best thing to do is realize there is support all around you and there are no excuses during these 4 weeks.

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

7 responses to “Excuses = Addict

  • Catherine

    “Your addiction to food is more socially acceptable, and therefore doesn’t sound so bad.” I find this to be sooo true in making consciencious decisions about putting the right kinds of food into my mouth! Ironically, I’m going to Texas Roadhouse tonight with every intention of leaving the rolls on the table and not on my hips…

  • Wednesday » Hoosier CrossFit

    […] Excuses = Addict By hcfchallenge Sometimes I find myself and many others saying the following, “Well, I had a long day…” “Well, I didn’t have enough time to…” “Well, I just didn’t have self control.”  These are not reasons. They are excuses.  We all say them and we need to stop. […]

  • Denise

    I know I am an addict! I have found though, after 1-2 weeks off sugars, grains, dairy, and beans that it gets much easier…if you can only push through the first week or so, avoid situations that tempt you (like avoiding the bar if you are an alcoholic), distract yourself (stay busy with other things…clean your car, clean your house, cook healthy things, etc) it does get easier.

    Just like an alcoholic who can’t take that 1 drink, I can not even “cheat” with one little bite of the no-no foods, else I eat the whole stinking thing and then go looking for more! (this is what sugars and grains do to me)! As long as I totally avoid even one morsel of the no-no’s I find it easier to keep on track!!!! Just some food for thought (paleo style and calorie-free) 🙂

  • Sam Spade

    As a self-proclaimed food addict, I feel there is no worse addiction than a food addiction. What worse thing is there to be addicted to than the very thing that helps sustain your life? Unlike alcohol or drugs, no matter how much one comes to grips with their food addiction, they must turn to their “drug of choice” again and again, simply because it is imperative to life.

    So how does one overcome a food addiction? In my opinion, there is no “overcome”. Only through acceptance can one “overcome” this addiction. Acceptance of the addiction. Acceptance of the lifelong struggles one will have with this affliction. Most importantly, though, acceptance of human nature: Error. There is no perfection with diet. There are too many elements that can lead to a “relapse”. If one can learn to accept these mistakes and get past them quickly, however, they become less important, as well as less detrimental to the recovery process.

    So, don’t make excuses. If you have a Faileo day, accept it. Accept that you’re human and that you will do better the next day. It isn’t the one day that kills you. It’s the excuses that lead to the day after day after day of bad decisions which snowball into more bad decisions, until you’ve spiraled so far out of control that you don’t know how to get back to where you were and you give up altogether.

    I cannot count the number of times that I told myself, “Tomorrow is the day I change things.” Tomorrow never came…until one day, I overcame my fear that I couldn’t change. I accepted that what I had been doing was all wrong. I remember the moment when tomorrow became today. Regardless of whether or not you remember your “today”, we’re now all on the same path. Stay the course. Accept it…and enjoy the ride!

    • susan

      Once again, you’re in my head Sam. 🙂
      I needed this and I printed it out to put in my journal. I’m sure I’ll need to review it again and again.

  • jenna

    Well said, Sam. You’re so right!

Leave a Reply

