Are You Suffering?

I feel like I have to repeat this over and over again. This isn’t about dieting.  This is about reversing problems that you suffer with everyday including, but not limited to, a serious case of anxiety (treated with medication).  The following testimonial was submitted to Robb Wolf by a woman named Christina in Austin, Texas.

paleo diet anxiety cure depression meds robb wolf

Hi Robb,

I was diagnosed with generalized anxiety disorder and panic disorder shortly after I graduated college in 2005.  For the last few months of college and consistently once I entered the workforce, I started having horrible panic attacks and generalized anxiety all day, every day.  I sought help once I had a job and decent insurance.  I started seeing a psychiatrist once a month and was prescribed Xanax for the anxiety (the first recommendation was anti-depressants, but the idea of those “brain drugs” scared me).  At my worst, I was taking up to 2.5mg of Xanax a day to feel “normal.”

I’m 5′ and 100lbs.  I’ve never had weight problems, but I was not healthy.  I was inactive and ate at Taco Bell at least three times a week.  For many years I only drank soda.  I didn’t like how water had “no taste.”  I hated cooking.  Pizza and McDonalds snack wraps were my best friends.

After 5 years of this, I made a few changes.  Shortly before my 27th birthday this year, I moved to Austin, TX from Washington, DC with my boyfriend of two years who eats only a Paleo diet and is a CrossFitter.  I was determined to build a new life – take on a less stressful job, eliminate bad friends, and remove other toxic influences that I was sure was contributing to my anxiety.  I even took up yoga, going 3-4 times per week.  No change.  I had to take Xanax before I went to yoga!

Once we had moved, my boyfriend was cooking for us all the time and I was really embracing Paleo.  We watched the CrossFit games this year and I decided that I too would join CrossFit.  I started in August of this year.  I started to thrive.  I wasn’t taking any Xanax before those classes.  Everyone was so nice and welcoming.

I started noticing that I was going most of the day without reaching for my medication.

Finally, after reviewing the nutrition information about my latte, I gave up my morning Starbucks.  I’ve gone full blown Paleo – no grains, no dairy, no sugar, no processed foods, only carbs from fruits and vegetables, lots of protein and healthy fats.

It’s been almost a month and I’m medication and anxiety-free.  For the past five years, I’ve lived every day on the verge of flight or fight.  There’s always been a knot in my stomach.  Even on the medication, my emotions (including happiness) were dulled.

I can’t thank people like you enough for raising awareness on how vastly important an appropriate diet and exercise are to all aspects of quality of life – not just weight loss.

Christina B.
Austin, Texas

– – – –

YOU CAN TAKE CONTROL of your life.  YOU ARE NOT A VICTIM OF BAD GENETICS.

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

One response to “Are You Suffering?

Leave a Reply

