Paleo Pancakes

You need to go to Sahara Mart or Amazon.com and purchase coconut flour.  These pancakes REALLY hit the spot on a lazy Sunday.  This recipe is from The Primal Blueprint with a few additions from me.

quickpaleo1 Paleo Pancake Recipee

3 eggs

3Tbs melted butter/oil (I think I leave this out, too)

1/4 cup plus 2Tbs coconut milk

1/2 tsp honey (I left this out)

1/4 cup Coconut Flour

1/4 cup almond flour (the best kind is the non-bleached, finely ground flour. Sahara Mart and Trader Joes has the kind I like)

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup or so of water (i left this out)

1tsp vanilla

optional: 1 Tbs (we like cinnamon)

Optional: half a banana

optional: some almond butter

(from my head, not the book)

First, turn your oven on Medium Heat and pre-heat your oven to Keep Warm and put a plate in it.  Then, mix all the wet ingredients.  You can mix the dry ingredients in another bowl, I just don’t because that means I have more to wash later.  I didn’t add the honey because I’ll usually top it with some honey; I just don’t need it inside my pancake.  I also leave out the water because I just keep pouring Coconut Milk (or almond milk since it’s cheaper to purchase and you can hardly taste the difference) until I get the consistency I want. I don’t measure it out precicely 1/4 cup + 2 Tablespoons because, again, it’s more to wash. It’s really no big deal to just pour away.  You don’t want it too runny, but I also don’t like it very thick.  You will find this will cook similar to regular pancakes.  The bottoms should turn golden brown.  I like to top it with some type of unsweetened apple butter or pumpkin butter. Maple syrup and honey are also fine.  Use these in moderation – you should not have soggy, sugar-drenched pancakes.

To be honest, as the cook, I like to eat my meals with “the family” (me and shaun).  So I definitely will keep the pancakes warm in the oven until my whole meal is finished.  We usually have 5-6 pancakes each, plus a few strips of bacon or ham and 1-2 eggs.

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

2 responses to “Paleo Pancakes

Leave a Reply

