Do You and Shaun Eat 100% Paleo?

….Or do you sometimes “cheat” just a little bit????

Nancy R. asked me this question today under comments for the Sunday Checkpoint.  I wish I were someone to look up to as being 100% paleo all day, every day.  That’s not the case.  From Day 1, about a year ago, my goal was to CRAVE vegetables (which I never, ever did before) and CHOOSE to eat paleo (which is hard when you work at a stressful job where, double whammy, it’s always someone’s birthday). My first paleo challenge last spring was so, unbelievably hard.  But, it was a start to begin this food journey for the rest of my life. It helped me realize what I could live without right away (dairy, sandwich bread, noodles), and what I still needed to work on (cake/pie/dessert in general,  Hot and Ready PIZZA, PIZZAs, and Opie Taylor’s mozzarella sticks).

Fast forward to today: Some weeks i’m 100% paleo and some weeks I’ll cheat with something mentioned above. I CRAVE vegetables! It’s a miracle, really.  I used to HATE fish and now I enjoy it.  I’m not afriad to try new things because my pallate has changed and I enjoy most foods now.  I’ve realized recipes that make dinner exciting, not boring.  I’ve found ways to essentially trick my brain into dessert- Walnut brownies!!

What does 100% look like?

For Breakfast -I have “learned” to eat vegetables at breakfast.  This morning? Fried Okra, zucchini, and yellow squash with an egg and pancakes made of coconut flour. Some of my favorite Breakfast meals: Breakfast Tacos, no-oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, and pancakes made with coconut flour will be my next recipe to share.

For Lunch – I usually graze  throughout they day and maybe munch on leftovers or throw a salad together.  Some of my favorite snacks: Cinnamon Roasted Pecans and Almonds, pumpkin nut muffins, granola bars, grapefruit, apple..

For Dinner – You know how mom always has the same meals she makes over and over? I now have that for my paleo dinners – stuff that I really look forward to eating!  Bison Stuffed Bell Peppers, spaghetti,  any burger/steak with steamed or veggies browned in olive oil.

What does cheating look like?

Shaun and I have a routine in which we make chocolate chip cookies (we at least shoot for gluten free, but we don’t rationalize this as healthy, but rather a better choice) and watch a movie, maybe once a month. When I visit my mom and she makes a meal that has breadcrumbs on it, I’m not going to hurt her feelings ***unless I’m part of a paleo challenge!!  Once or twice a year my mom and I go to the Spaghetti Factory, and I will help myself to their gluten free spaghetti (like I said, a better choice and still not the healthiest) with Mizithra cheese – no sauce. We still have family members make us food like chocolate fudge over the holidays.  We eat it.  I typically don’t cheat on things I consider little like sandwich bread, a glass of milk, or appetizers at a restaurant.  However, when I do take the plunge, I have that “go big or go home” mentality about cheating, and it’s not the best approach…consequences are in the form of a food hangover the next morning.

Addiction: It’s my opinion that people are not supposed to feel regret about eating or not eating a particular food.  If you HAVE to have your fried, sugared, whatever it is… then, let’s face it, it’s an addiction.  This particular addiction is one that scientists now attribute to the cause of autoimmune diseases, certain types of cancer, diabetes, and many, many, many other ailments that affect our sleep, sex drive, mood, memory, athleticism, weight and much more.

My goal is to be 100% paleo. I don’t know when, and I’m not there yet. But I will most definitely get there.

This week begins ALL Paleo meals and snacks for the next 3 weeks!

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

Leave a Reply

