Sunday Checkpoint!

For all of our challenge followers, whether you put your money in the pot or not, let us know how your week went!

The purpose of Week #1 is to think about about and ultimately choosing to make healthy choices.  Did you find any challenges in planning your meal?   Did you stick to all paleo breafkasts or all paleo lunches or all paleo dinners, or did you mix it up a bit?  Did you experiment with a new food or herbs? Did you decide to go for more than one Paleo meal a day?  Let us know your thoughts. Plus, write down what you anticipate for this upcoming week.What you think will happen when you incorporate two meals a day.

Below are the rules for Week #2

1. Continue to describe breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks, record your WODS, sleep, and mood/energy in your journal.

2. This week, you will choose TWO meals each day consisting of only Meat, Veggies, nuts/seeds, or some fruit.

3. Snacks in between meals are still freely your choice.  Begin thinking of healthier options than wheat/dairy products.

4. Go to the grocery store. Here is some food for thought:

  • Pick out 3-4 vegetables, and 1 new vegetable you might not have had before.  Zucchini, brussel sprouts, okra (in the frozen section).  It’s really easy to put all of these in a pan with olive oil and brown.   You need vegetables in BOTH paleo meals.
  • Try to incorporate fish at least once per week – it’s the leanest with the best type of oil.  Buy large ham or turkey (bulk is cheaper). Get some chicken and some burger.  If it’s on sale, buy a lot and freeze it.
  • Plan your meals and prepare them ahead of time. Write down some meals you want to make and prepare them in advance.  Cut your veggies now, so you don’t have to do it later.  Go back to Friday’s post and read about TIME MANAGEMENT.
About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

20 responses to “Sunday Checkpoint!

  • Nancy R

    End of week 1 – reasonably easy so far… spent time this weekend shopping for food and snacks for next week since grabbing a cheese stick or yogurt is no longer on the plan. Pretty psyched about raisins, almond butter on celery, though. The protein is harder – chicken for 3 meals and snacks is going to get old quickly. But for now, it’ll be leftovers, which in large part this week is likely to be chicken. After not quite 2 months of X-Fit, my weight is down, I fit better into my clothes, have energy and good mood – so far so good.

    Squawk!

    Nancy

    Nancy

    • hcfchallenge

      Nancy, you Rock! There are always little surprises with you that make me smile! Don’t hesitate to ask me or other friends if you need help getting creative with your meals. Thanks for posting!

  • Dani

    Week one of the Paleo Challenge was surprisingly easier than expected. I was overwhelmed by the thought of it at first…I had a LOT of groceries to buy and it seemeed like it was going to end up costing a lot of money. Once I bought a few staple items (ie, olive oil, veggies, spices, etc.) that I used for several meals I realized it wasn’t going to be so bad. If I wanted to cook something specific I just stopped by the store and grabbed those few items. I wasn’t tempted to stray and buy stuff I didn’t need.

    I tried to eat Paleo for most meals of the day. I did well until I had a work meeting Friday. The meal provided was BBQ Chicken sandwiches and salad with Ranch. We also sampled a few wines. Oops! It was easy to get back on track though. I felt awful after putting all that sugar in my body. It made me feel sluggish and jittery. Luckily we had an on-ramp class that night which perked me right back up!

    My favorite recipe of the week was Red Curry Chicken and veggies. It tasted just like something from a thai restaurant (minus the rice). I ate it for dinner one night, then used it in lettuce wraps for lunch the next day. I put it on top of lettuce the 3rd day as a salad, but by then I was pretty tired of it! 3 meals out of one though…can’t beat that!

    As the week progressed I noticed I had more energy and was happier. Normally I get home from work and sit on the couch in front of the TV. This week I didn’t even want to do that. I found myself looking for things to do to keep myself busy. I did, however, have a little trouble falling asleep. My energy levels were pretty high, and I found it hard to wind down. Once I fell asleep I was good until my alarm went off.

    Overall, I’m really liking the Paleo diet, and loving on ramp! Can’t wait to try new recipes and workouts! One problem…I’m still craving sweets in the middle of the day. Usually after lunch. It’s really bad! Any suggestions would be much appreciated!!

    Things to work on for week 2:
    Do runs on days between WOD’s
    Drink less diet coke/diet root beer…more h20
    Plan lunches better
    Make pumpkin muffins
    Don’t eat so bad on the weekend!

    • hcfchallenge

      What a great week! Send me the Recipe for your red curry chicken and veggies and i’ll post it on the site! Now I want to try it! The more you balance your diet with meat, veggies, and fats, your body should release cortisol to boost your energy in the morning and throughout the day, and start feeling tired at the appropriate time in the evening. Keep taking note of these changes over the next few weeks! Great Job!-Jenna

  • Heather

    Week one was overall GREAT for me! When I found out about the Paleo diet I jumped in cold turkey and right now do all meals, and all snacks Paleo. I think the hardest challenge for me is I love oranges and blueberries and I definitely consume more than the recommended amount. The hardest thing for me right now is finding the right time to eat because I am usually gone from 5-8:30 every evening so I either eat at 4:15 or 9 . . its a toss up right now. I have learned to LOVE adding spices to my vegetables and produce! They add such a good taste to my meals! Week one was also my first week of coming to classes and I absolutely LOVE IT! I cannot express to you readers how much joy it brings me! In the little time I have been doing crossfit I have developed such a passion for it! I am looking forward to more WOD’s 🙂 When I get more time on my hands I cannot wait to come more than 3 times a week!

    For week 2 I am going to work on less fruit and more vegetables! I am going to try and learn to like tea! and also do more mobility at home so I am not so sore :)!

    • hcfchallenge

      Your enthusiasm is so contagious! I’m so excited about your commitment to Paleo. Don’t stress too much about fruits, considering your other healthy decisions daily. High anti-oxidant and low glycemic foods include berries and pitted fruits like plums, apricots, nectarines, and peaches. Apples, pears, grapefruit, and kiwis are really good fruits to eat! The Primal Blueprint suggests that you consume grapes, oranges, melons, and pineapples in moderation. Continuing to strive for more veggies is a great plan for next week! Don’t forget to keep up the protein!

  • Heather

    Week 2 went pretty well for me! I Love the PALEO lifestyle. I stay fuller longer and have much more energy! I have a hard time eating at normal hours because of my crazy schedule right now but this is only temporary! I can definitely see the benefits of the Paleo lifestyle and crossfit combined and I love it! I have learned to LOVE tea! Now I need to jump on the “nut” train and continue to add more protein into my meals. Next weeks personal challenge is to eat more whole eggs and not just egg whites!!

    Also, just as a side note to whoever reads this and has not jumped on the Paleo/Crossfit train yet . . I cannot express to you how much more confidence this lifestyle has given me! Not to mention I haven’t fit into a size 6 jean since the BEGINNING of HS! 🙂

    • hcfchallenge

      Your enthusiasm just makes me want to go eat vegetables! You are on the right track with your goals so Keep them up! Sometimes meals with nuts don’t end up nutty-tasting. Play with some nut recipes for on the go snacks. Great job with our challenge so far! – Jenna

  • Dani

    Week 2 of the Paleo Challenge went even better than week 1! I tried some new recipes that were awesome! Spaghetti squash with meat, veggie and tomato sauce. It was soooo good! Exactly what I was craving, and I had plenty of leftovers. I also made the pumpkin muffins which were great to have around as a quick snack to grab. Next time I may add a little more cinnamon than the recipe calls for.

    Overall, I’m noticing higher energy levels and having less trouble sleeping. I’m a fan of the Paleo lifestyle so far! I just FEEL better!! I’m noticing my pants are fitting a little more losely and that’s ALWAYS a good thing. =) Bring it on week 3!!

    • hcfchallenge

      I LOVE spaghetti squash. I’m glad you tried it. It’s a bit of a change at first, but so much for satisfying for your belly when you finished (compared to a big bowl of dense spaghetti). I’m so proud of you sticking to the Paleo train. Keep up the good work and continue to find time to make yummi meals 🙂 – Jenna

  • Heather

    End of Week 3! Overall was a pretty good week! I’ve incorporated more “nuts” rather than oranges as snacks! I use to hate tea . . now I love it, it keeps me warm with this cold weather! I feel much stronger, more energized, and although I start to drag if it’s after 10pm, I don’t wake up in the middle of the night as much anymore! (YIPPEE!) I had some Paleo Chili last night for dinner, and it was delicious!! Who needs beans and cheese in their chili anyways? Not me! I am nervous about my trip to Disney on the 11th, I’m afraid they won’t have any non deep fried food. I’ve become to love this Paleo lifestyle and I cannot imagine eating something that has bread on it. I’m already planning on bringing nuts, apples, and of course oranges with me. Hopefully Disney has grilled chicken and vegetables (with no butter). This will be my biggest challenge yet! I’m ready for week 4! All out Paleo, as always 🙂 Lets get it Nancy and Dani!!!

    • hcfchallenge

      It’s normal to “drag” once the sun goes down! It’s time to sleep! It’s great to hear you’re waking up less. Read my post on Saturday about Eating out! It can be a challenge depending on the type of restaurant or fast food you go to. Don’t be afraid to ask you server questions about the menu. Most servers want a good tip and are happy to meet your paleo needs. Even if you are On The Go and need to eat at fast food restaurants, they are starting to have some pretty tasty salads on the menu. Make a decision you are happy with and Love your Paleo dinner. From my experience, f you settle for an meal that didn’t “hit the spot,” you might feel like you need something more satisfying; especially with the non-paleo eaters around you, it’ll be hard to resist snacking on the variety of poor quality food. Keep up the great work!!! -Jenna

  • Nancy R

    End of week 3

    Good work Heather! I’ve had a good Paleo week as well. Ate out a couple of times this week, but found it pretty easy to find a salad with grilled chicken and most places ahve a burger or steak and potato / salad / or veggie. My biggest challenge is going to be the final weekend – going to Minneapolis for my mother’s 80th birthday. Airport and plane eating has always been junk food for me and a weekend with my parents without anxious eating… yikes~! Not to mention, the party will have scrumptious appetizers and desserts. Still, can’t blow it the final weekend!

    Jenna, just curious – do you and Shaun eat 100% Paleo or do you sometimes “cheat” just a little bit????

    Anyway, back to week 3 … I’ve planned better so I’ve had the right snacks and food with me to graze on at work. Have started eating a slice of pan seared ham with a celery stalk and almond butter for week day breakfasts – quick before work and keeps me full until my mid-morning snack. Typically roast a chicken on Sunday to eat troughout the week with salad and veggies. I’ve read that hazel nuts are the most nutritious and least caloric nut compared to walnuts, almonds, pecans… etc. Check ’em out Heather! And, I’m really liking 77% dark chocolate. Next bar I’ll try 85% to see how that is. I like not having to forego chocolate altogether.

    Feel good in my body and am wearing clothes I haven’t worn in a while. I like it.

    Half way through gals! Bring on week 4!

    Nancy

    • hcfchallenge

      Thanks for your comment Nancy. Your question has inspired Sunday’s Post 🙂 It seems like you and Heather will be sharing similar experiences with our paleo challenge as you are both heading out of town! I can’t wait to hear how life on the road goes! Your hard work really pays off, and no doubt this way of eating will help give you more energy and make greater progress within CrossFit.

  • Dani

    Happy week 4 fellow challengers! =) I’m a day late. Week 3 went EXTREMELY well for me. I wasn’t tempted to cheat most of the week. Weekends are still a little bit tough because I’m home more, and there is more BAD (but good tasting) food around me. This weekend my family was having wings, and I wanted some too…so instead of eating theirs I made me own. I just threw some chicken in the oven with hot sauce on it, and it totally did the trick! Paired it with carrots and celery, and it was just like being at my fav wing spot! Minus the beer. haha.

    I will also be going out of town during the challenge. I will be with my boyfriends family in Ohio all weekend! There is normally tons of food and alcohol involved at their get-togethers! I’m a little worried to be around it all, but I just have to keep in mind how TERRIBLE I feel when I stray from Paleo. It’s sooo not worth it. Hopefully we will go out to dinner, that way I can make my own healthy choices. If they cook a bunch of stuff it could be slightly more difficult! I’ll let ya know how it goes. I’m gonna STAY STRONG!!

    As far as weight loss is going…I’m back in my SKINNY PANTS!!!! My fat pants are too big for me again, and that’s exactly what I needed to see to stay motivated! Woohoooo. Now I just really want to tone tone tone! Can’t wait to see some more muscle definition.

    Things to focus on for week 4: Be more creative with chicken. Make paleo brownies. Drink more water. STAY STRONG THIS WEEKEND IN OHIO!!

    • hcfchallenge

      Dani! What a great plan! Sometimes there’s an easy way to make a healthier option that tastes great! What a challenge for all of you going out of town soon! Traveling for on the go and having family prepare meals can be quite a challenge. Do what’s right for you, and do what makes you feel good. You’ve inspired my next post will be about food on the go!

  • Heather

    Onto Week 5!!! Week 4 = pretty darn successful! I went 100% Paleo (as always) and have added more nuts into my daily routine! I have definitely noticed the nuts (as a snack) make me feel much fuller between my meals and not wanting anything else after! I plan on taking these on my Disney trip (this Friday!!) with me! I was looking at the menu they have at the place I will be staying and it is basically like a food court. So it looks like salad and a burger on top for me with all the veggies I can find! I’m sure I will find more options as the trip goes on, but I am bringing Paleo snacks just in case! I wish I could upload pictures on here! My mom just bought a crock-pot yesterday and for dinner she made Paleo vegetable soup! It was delicious!! It might just be a new favorite of mine! And right now she has a chicken in the crock-pot with onions, carrots, tomatoes, celery, mushrooms, chili powder, and cumin cooking for lunch! I cannot wait to try this! Slowly but surly my parents are jumping on the Paleo train as well! I just have to keep them in line sometimes!
    As for week 5 I am ready for my Disney challenge! This will be the true test for me! Can I go to Disney World and still have Paleo meals? I guess we’ll find out when I get back Tuesday night!! I’ll be ready for that crossfit when I get back too!! That’s for sure!!

    • Jenna

      You can take a picture of your meals, email them to me and I will upload them to the blog! with the Recipe details, too!! It’s not too late! Vegetable soup sounds perfect when it’s snowing and you don’t want to go anywhere. I’ll be thinking about you next weekend when you are on your trip. I have no doubt that you’ll be fine because you understand food is to fuel our body for energy and wellness. When you make good decisions, your friends will often make good decisions, too 🙂

  • Nancy R

    I left my weekly blog on the wrong place on the website. Here it is again:

    Paleo challenge going smoothly – pretty much a non-issue for week 4.

    More importantly, I’ve been thinking about how much of X-Fit for me is mental. My mind still limits my ability to push myself 100%. Eg. my mind says: “if I push myself in the warm up I might not have enough left over for the WOD”; “if I push myself hard in the first 50 burpees, I might not make it to the end…” on and on. As I feel more confident in what I can do, hopefully I’ll be able to really go for it. A telling example… my 500m row is a fairly consistent time of 2’25″ – my 1000m row time yesterday was 4’50″. If I can keep my warm up pace of 500m for the full 1000m, this tell me that the 500m by itself should be faster. If I was really making maximum effort in 500m I wouldn’t be able to maintain the pace. Mind over body – still working on it.

    On to week 5!

    Good luck Heather – you’ll do fine! And, say hi to Mickey for me!

    P.S. GO PACK!

    Nancy

  • Dani

    Week 4 went fairly well for me. Graduated from on-ramp!! YAY!! Can’t wait to get started on the real stuff =) I LOVE Cross Fit! Can’t imagine having to go back to the old fashioned workouts I used to do.

    As far as the diet…honestly, something felt a little off. I didn’t cheat, but it felt like I did for some reason…if that makes sense?!? I didn’t cook as much this week, and instead ate small snacks. It just didn’t feel as healthy. For example; an apple with almond butter in place of a meal for dinner. I obviously got a little lazy with the cooking. Back on top of my game for week 5! =)

    I didn’t end up making it to Ohio this weekend, but I did stay at my boyfriends house in Indy, which is equally as hard! I packed some easy snacks that came in handy. Jenna’s blog about food on the go gave me some good ideas. I packed celery with almond butter and raisins, carrots, almonds, and pumpkin muffins. I ended up eating my snacks for 2 meals..so they came in handy. We did go out for dinner Saturday to Stir Crazy! I had never been there before, and it was perfect for Paleo. You pick out your meat, veggies, spices and sauce, and they cook it for you! Total control of what you’re eating…and all you can eat for $10. Awesomeness!!

    Ok…so on to week 5! First week of normal cross fit classes, and back to cooking dinner for myself! I’m on it =) Good luck to Heather and Nancy this week. Have fun in Florida, Heather!

Leave a Reply

