LaLanne Fitness: paleo challenge, By Chris. C

I was embarrassed. I could give excuses like, lots of travel and dinners out with clients, long hours at work, quitting smoking, etc., but the truth is I let myself go. I gave up. I spent the next several weeks thinking about that picture and formulating a plan or at least trying to formulate a plan.

One evening I came home from work, picked up the local circular and spotted an ad for LALANNE FITNESS. I had to go three days a week in the early morning right down the street from my home. No more excuses I thought, so I picked up the phone. The voice on the other end said, “Sure, we’re still accepting students. Show up at 6:30am for your weigh-in and we’ll get started right away.” This was the beginning of how CrossFit and The Paleo Diet would change my life forever!

LaLanne Fitness image

I spent the next six weeks working out with a group of ten men and women and two days on my own. I thought that I was not going to make it that first class. I nearly threw up but I was committed. I had paid my money and put my pride on the line. At the end of I had lost the most weight and inches off my waistline (10 lbs and 3 inches), winning a fitness challenge with Chris LaLanne.

This was only the beginning. The winner of the challenge received a one month membership in the trainer’s gym (http://www.lalannefitness.com). I signed up and never looked back. By the time I hit my 39th birthday in June of 2008 I had lost 17 lbs. In November of the same year I had lost 42lbs. What made this really powerful is that I travel each year to Chicago on Thanksgiving Day. It’s a long trip for me, so I can’t do it with one bag. To avoid any drama at the airport, I weigh my bags at home. My small rolling bag weighed the same as the total amount of weight I had lost. I asked my wife Robin to pick up the bag and she could not. I had been carrying that weight around with me every day for years. The symbolism was incredible.

Today, I run, row, cycle and lift weights regularly. I do full push-ups, kipping pull-ups and can sprint 500M on the rower in one minute thirty seven seconds. I eat more fish, less red meat and more high fiber fruits and vegetables. I have competed in an Indoor Rowing Championship, ridden in a metric century bicycle ride and run the second oldest foot race in America, The Dipsea, turning in 1:41:10 for that race, which was more than 30 minutes faster than the first attempt that I made at it. I turned 40 over the weekend and as of this morning I am 55 lbs. lighter than I was fourteen months ago. I have more energy, a better attitude, a new wardrobe and I am in the best shape of my life.

People that I have known for years but have not seen for some time ask, “Where’s the rest of you?” The secret you ask? The will to change, an exercise program called CrossFit led by Chris LaLanne and The Paleo Diet based on sensible diet made up of lean meats, fresh vegetables, fruits and some nuts.-Chris C.

About hcfchallenge

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following: * Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish * Seasonal fruits and vegetables * Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil Our 6 week challenge will help you ease your way into the Paleo Diet. Regardless of your fitness or health goals, you WILL look, feel and perform your best on the Paleo diet. For most people the fact the Paleo diet delivers the best results is enough. Improved blood lipids, weight loss and reduced pain from autoimmunity is proof enough. Many people however are not satisfied with blindly following any recommendations, be they nutrition or exercise related. Some folks like to know WHY they are doing something. Fortunately, the Paleo diet has stood not only the test of time, but also the rigors of scientific scrutiny. View all posts by hcfchallenge

Leave a Reply

